Comic Reviews

Showing results 5068-5107 of 8037

All Reviews

comics per page
FirstPreviousNextLast

Kill Shakespeare #18

Othello might be his own villain and Hamlet could finally be his own hero. But how do star cross’d lovers play into this?

Publisher:
IDW
Writer:
Conor McCreery, Anthony Del Col
Artists:
Andy Belanger
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Wed, December 22nd, 2010

Chew #16

“That’s a lot of money you spendin’ on chicken, old man. How you gonna afford yer adult diapers this month?”

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
John Layman
Artists:
Rob Guillory
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Tue, December 21st, 2010

The Stuff of Legend Volume II: The Jungle #3

“We lost our king. He died so I could free our greatest weapon. All of this death and despair because I wanted to be special again.”

Publisher:
Th3rd World Studios
Writer:
Mike Raicht, Brian Smith
Artists:
Charles Paul Wilson III
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Tue, December 21st, 2010

The Sixth Gun #7

"The Sixth Gun" begins its second storyline with just as much promise and punch as its first.

Publisher:
Oni Press
Writer:
Cullen Bunn
Artists:
Brian Hurtt
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Tue, December 21st, 2010

Wolverine #4

Wolverine takes down the Devil, while his body takes down the X-Men.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jason Aaron
Artists:
Renato Guedes, Jose Wilson Magalhaes, Oclair Albert
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Tue, December 21st, 2010

X-Factor #212

X-Factor finally close their case on Pip the Troll, with the help of Thor.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Peter David
Artists:
Emanuela Lupacchino, Pat Davidson
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Tue, December 21st, 2010

Supergirl #59

"When it comes down to it, lives can be boiled down to just a few things: our families, both the good parts and the bad, the people who hate us, the ones who love us, and the work we leave behind."

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Sterling Gates
Artists:
Jamal Igle, Jon Sibal, Robin Riggs
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sun, December 19th, 2010

Green Lantern/Plastic Man: Weapons of Mass Destruction #1

“I’m a super-hero. They’re ordinary Joes. This should be S.O.P., right? So I stretch into action. . . Plastic Man style. Y’know, cause I’m cool.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Marv Wolfman
Artists:
Brent Anderson
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sun, December 19th, 2010

Chaos War #4

“That thing Athena was right about? You’ll never stop hitting things. It’s all you do. Even as the world crumbles around you. Well, I’m finding a better way.”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Greg Pak, Fred Van Lente
Artists:
Khoi Pham, Tom Palmer
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sun, December 19th, 2010

The Unwritten #20

Tom hunts after a white whale and yet no one shouts “Thar she blows!” Next issue better!

Publisher:
Vertigo
Writer:
Mike Carey
Artists:
Peter Gross, Vince Locke
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Sun, December 19th, 2010

Loki #2

Watch out Balder, Loki’s going to kil... oh. Too late.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa
Artists:
Sebastian Fiumara, Michel Lacombe
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Sun, December 19th, 2010

Thunderbolts #151

Do you dare learn the secrets of the Ghost? Who is he? How did he come to be? What does he want? Read and find out!

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jeff Parker
Artists:
Kev Walker
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Sun, December 19th, 2010

Birds of Prey #7

“I’m going to be relying on you. All of you. Including Helena. All of you. But it won’t work without Oracle.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Gail Simone
Artists:
Ardian Syaf, Vicente Cifuentes
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sun, December 19th, 2010

Green Lantern #60

Has “Green Lantern” gotten so big and wide scale that it’s lost its soul? And is Doug Mahnke the solution?

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns
Artists:
Doug Mahnke, Keith Champagne, Christian Alamy, Shawn Moll
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
Sun, December 19th, 2010

Proof Endangered #1

Proof is on the move to find some truth, but instead he’s working against very nasty cryptids and people who want to see him dead. Oh, and your favorite action/horror slugs are in this one.

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Alex Grecian
Artists:
Riley Rossmo
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Fri, December 17th, 2010

Uncanny X-Force #3

"Uncanny X-Force" continues a run of violence and humor, but in a way that actually works.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Rick Remender
Artists:
Jerome Opena
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Fri, December 17th, 2010

Avengers vs. the Pet Avengers #3

You can see the end coming a mile away, but "Avengers vs. the Pet Avengers" is still charming in a silly sort of way.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Chris Eliopoulos
Artists:
Ig Guara
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Fri, December 17th, 2010

Batman #705

"Batman" builds on the past while looking ahead to the future.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Tony Daniel
Artists:
Tony Daniel, Sandu Florea
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Thu, December 16th, 2010

New Mutants Forever #5

Things don't so much conclude, here, as come to a screeching halt.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Chris Claremont
Artists:
Al Rio, Bob McLeod
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Thu, December 16th, 2010

Amazing Spider-Man #650

Perhaps crassly commercialized, but still a fine story from Slott with nice art by Ramos.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Dan Slott
Artists:
Humberto Ramos
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
Thu, December 16th, 2010

Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #5

"Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors" is still struggling to find its voice, something I wouldn't have expected from Peter J. Tomasi.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Peter J. Tomasi
Artists:
Fernando Pasarin, Cam Smith
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Thu, December 16th, 2010

Mighty Samson #1

Never before have I wanted to see a comic book crushed by a falling temple, until I read "Mighty Samson" #1.

Publisher:
Dark Horse Comics
Writer:
Jim Shooter, J.C. Vaughn
Artists:
Patrick Olliffe
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Thu, December 16th, 2010

What If? Spider-Man #1

Peter Parker: Psychopath! He’s just one step away from becoming a serial killer, you know.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Mark Sable
Artists:
Paul Azaceta, Matt Southworth
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Thu, December 16th, 2010

Avengers Academy #7

“Remember when I went by ‘Dr. Pym,’ in the West Coast Avengers? Trying to deny I was a super hero while on a team of them. That’s pretty much a microcosm of my life, isn’t it?”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Christos Gage
Artists:
Tom Raney, Dave Meikis, Scott Hanna
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, December 15th, 2010

John Byrne’s Next Men #1

“That does it! I don’t know what’s going on around here. . . but I do know one thing! None of this can be real!”

Publisher:
IDW
Writer:
John Byrne
Artists:
John Byrne
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, December 15th, 2010

Brightest Day #16

“I’ll explain everything in detail later. Mera will. Right now, it’s time to claim your birthright.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns, Peter J. Tomasi
Artists:
Ivan Reis, Scott Clark, Joe Prado
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, December 15th, 2010

The Occultist #1

A young man, a mystical book, solid writing, a set up for plenty of further wacky tales. Check this out.

Publisher:
Dark Horse Comics
Writer:
Tim Seeley
Artists:
Victor Drujiniu, Jason Gorder
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Wed, December 15th, 2010

Mouse Guard: The Black Axe #1

This prequel series to "Mouse Guard" has a promising beginning, and not just because of the killer weasels.

Publisher:
Archaia
Writer:
David Petersen
Artists:
David Petersen
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, December 15th, 2010

Black Panther: The Man Without Fear #513

Black Panther stomps heads in the shadows really well, but a wannabe Captain Romania has the possibility to steal the show.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
David Liss
Artists:
Francesco Francavilla
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Tue, December 14th, 2010

First Wave #5

The only thing worse than late books? Late books that look awful.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Brian Azzarello
Artists:
Rags Morales, Rick Bryant
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Mon, December 13th, 2010

Incredible Hulks #618

The Dead want Marlo?!?

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Greg Pak, Jeff Parker
Artists:
Paul Pelletier, Danny Miki, Yacine Elghorri
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
Mon, December 13th, 2010

The Flash #7

Captain Boomerang is still a silly character, no matter how serious Geoff Johns tries to make him.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns
Artists:
Scott Kolins
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
Mon, December 13th, 2010

Lady Mechanika #1

“The Lady Mechanika does not care what others say about her! She is her own woman, as am I.”

Publisher:
Aspen Comics
Writer:
Joe Benitez
Artists:
Joe Benitez
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Mon, December 13th, 2010

Booster Gold #39

"You think our lives are some. . . comic book – where guys in costumes pound the snot out of each other and nobody gets hurt?"

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Keith Giffen, J. M. DeMatteis
Artists:
Chris Batista, Chris Perrotta
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Mon, December 13th, 2010

Chaos War: Ares #1

Ares comes back to unlife, in a pointless story.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Michael Avon Oeming
Artists:
Stephen Segovia, Danny Miki, Victor Olazaba, Don Ho
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
Mon, December 13th, 2010

Thor the Mighty Avenger #7

Thor and Jane make the beast with two backs before Thor is tackled by a swarm of robots.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Roger Langridge
Artists:
Chris Samnee
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Sun, December 12th, 2010

27 #1

A damaged rocker is prepared to sacrifice some cats to get a chest plate that grants him artistic ability. Sadly, that sentence makes more sense than the actual comic does.

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Charles Soule
Artists:
Renzo Podesta
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Sun, December 12th, 2010

What If: Wolverine - Father
 #1

Finally, we discover the answer to the question “What If Wolverine had Raised Daken?”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Rob Williams
Artists:
Greg Tocchini
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Sun, December 12th, 2010

Shadowland: After the Fall #1

Ben Urich and Detective Kurtz both investigate Hell’s Kitchen in the aftermath of Shadowland.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Antony Johnston
Artists:
Roberto De La Torre, Marco Checchetto
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Sun, December 12th, 2010

Batgirl #16

“Apparently I murdered one of my fellow students. News to me, but I digress. . . I know for a fact that a bunch of weirdos dressed like the Grim Reaper are behind it.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Bryan Q. Miller
Artists:
Dustin Nguyen, Derek Fridolfs
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sat, December 11th, 2010
FirstPreviousNextLast