IDW Releases Clive Barker's "The Great and Secret Show" in December

Wed, November 7th, 2007 at 12:00am PST

Comic Books
CBR News Team, Editor

Send This to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.

Official Press Release

San Diego, CA - Fans of The Great and Secret Show by master-of-horror Clive Barker finally have access to one deluxe edition of the epic journey's comic book adaptation. Originally published as an ambitious fantasy/horror novel in 1989, IDW Publishing went on to reshape it as a 12-part saga in 2006 and early 2007. Now IDW Publishing is presenting The Great and Secret Show as one complete collection.

Adapted by IDW Publishing's publisher and editor-in-chief, Chris Ryall, and artist Gabriel Rodriguez, who is also responsible for Beowulf, the collection will be offered in both trade paperback and hardcover editions. This special edition includes complete cover galleries by Rodriguez and Barker and full issue-by-issue annotations by Ryall.

"Chris worked closely with Clive on this adaptation and this edition really showcases the hard work that he and Gabriel put into it," said Ted Adams, IDW Publishing's President.

More than a decade after the novel's original release, the now cult-classic story of The Great and Secret Show is the ultimate battle between good and evil, which spans many decades and dimensions. Central to the story are two men- Nebraska postal clerk Randolph Jaffe and mad-yet-philanthropic scientist Richard Fletcher-who represent light versus dark forces and battle over a mystical sea called Quiddity. Jaffe wants to access Quiddity's power, while Fletcher wants to thwart the sea from being ruined. The conflict between the two men becomes a decades-long feud that spans different dimensions, in which love blooms, a town dies, Armageddon begins and the entire human race is affected.

TPB FC 300 pages $35.00 ISBN: 978-1-60010-121-2

HC FC 300 pages $55.00 ISBN: 978-1-60010-110-6

 
CBR News