New Shadowline title, "Pretty, Baby, Machine," announced for May

Mon, March 3rd, 2008 at 12:00am PST

Comic Books
CBR News Team, Editor

Send This to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.

Official Press Release

3 March 2008 (Berkeley, CA) - Pretty Boy Floyd, Baby Face Nelson and Machine Gun Kelly take on the most powerful mobster of the 20th century, Al Capone, in Image Comics/Shadowline's PRETTY, BABY, MACHINE, a three issue mini-series by PUNKS and BEOWOLF's Kody Chamberlain and screenwriter Clark Westerman.

"PRETTY, BABY, MACHINE came out of a love for the classic noir films of the 1950s and the startlingly true history of America's mobsters," said Westerman. "However, it wasn't until I saw Kody's art that the idea really gelled. Seeing the range of his styles blew me away and soon after, we got to work on PRETTY, BABY, MACHINE."

In PRETTY, BABY, MACHINE, Chamberlain's art style adapts once again to properly convey Westerman's 1930s tale of bloodshed and betrayal, along the lines of such noir films as DOUBLE INDEMNITY or recent classics such as ROAD TO PERDITION.

Shadowline President Jim Valentino said, "Kody is one of the most versitile young artists around and a future super-star. Here he applies the most realistic chiaroscuro/film noir style this side of Michael Lark. Fans of GOTHAM CENTRAL, CRIMINAL and TORSO will eat this book up!"

PRETTY, BABY, MACHINE (MAR082067), a 32-page black and white three issue mini-series for $3.50, will be in stores May 7th, 2008.

Image Comics is a comics and graphic novels publisher formed in 1992 by a collective of best-selling artists. Since that time, Image has gone on to become one of the largest comics publishers in the United States. There are currently four partners in Image Comics (Erik Larsen, Todd McFarlane, Marc Silvestri and Jim Valentino), and Image is currently divided into four major houses (Todd McFarlane Productions, Top Cow Productions, Shadowline and Image Central). Image comics and graphic novels cover nearly every genre, sub-genre and style imaginable, offering science fiction, romance, horror, crime fiction, historical fiction, humor and more by the finest artists and writers working in the medium today. Visit www.imagecomics.com.

 
CBR News