Marvel Announces "The Stand: Captain Trips" Premiere HC

Wed, January 14th, 2009 at 12:24pm PST | Updated: January 14th, 2009 at 12:27pm

Comic Books
CBR News Team, Editor

Official Press Release

Marvel is proud to announce the highly-anticipated The Stand: Captain Trips Premiere Hardcover, collecting the first critically-acclaimed graphic fiction adaptation of Stephen King’s seminal novel, will be released EXCLUSIVELY to direct market retailers on March 11th. This hardcover collects the entire The Stand: Captain Trips limited series by the superstar creative team of writer Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa (Secret Invasion: Fantastic Four, Angel: Revelations),Eisner-nominated artist Mike Perkins (Captain America, House of M: Avengers) and Eisner-winning colorist Laura Martin (Astonishing X-Men) with two stunning covers—one by the red-hot Lee Bermejo and a limited edition gatefold cover by Perkins. King fans should know that both editions are available ONLY in comic shops across the country, and through online comics and collected editions sellers.

In the tradition of Civil War and Secret Invasion, The Stand: Captain Trips Premiere HC will debut amid a flurry of mainstream and hobby market press, with Marvel providing retailers an array of complimentary promotional tools.

“Marvel is excited to present this unique opportunity to our partners in the direct market who’ve helped make The Stand such a success,” explained David Gabriel, Marvel Senior Vice President of Sales. “We appreciate their overwhelming support for The Stand: Captain Trips and want to thank them with the option of either the regular cover or the limited edition gatefold cover.”

It all begins here: the epic apocalyptic battle between good and evil. On a secret army base in the Californian desert, something has gone horribly, terribly wrong. Something will send Charlie Campion, his wife and daughter fleeing in the middle of the night. Unfortunately for the Campion family--and the rest of America--they are unaware that all three of them are carrying a deadly cargo: a virus that will spread from person to person like wildfire, triggering a massive wave of disease and death, prefacing humanity's last stand. Don’t miss the beginning of this epic story in The Stand: Captain Trips Premiere HC!

For more on The Stand, please visit www.marvel.com/thestand or www.stephenking.com. The Stand: Captain Trips Premiere HC will be available nationwide on March 11th at comic shops and online comics retailers.

Published by arrangement with The Doubleday Broadway Publishing Group, a division of Random House, Inc. This graphic novel is produced under license from The Doubleday Broadway Publishing Group and Stephen King.

THE STAND: CAPTAIN TRIPS PREMIERE HC (DEC082308)
THE STAND: CAPTAIN TRIPS PREMIERE HC LIMITED EDITION VARIANT (DEC082309)
Written by ROBERTO AGUIRRE-SACASA
Penciled by MIKE PERKINS
Covers by MIKE PERKINS & LEE BERMEJO
Parental Advisory SLC …$24.99
FOC—01/22/09, On-Sale—3/11/09

TAGS:  the stand, the stand: captain trips, marvel comics, stephen king

 
CBR News

Send This Article to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.