Top Shelf to release Alan Moore's 'Voice of the Fire'

Fri, May 16th, 2003 at 12:00am PDT

Comic Books
Jonah Weiland, Executive Producer/Publisher

Official Press Release

Exciting news! Alan Moore's breathtaking novel, VOICE OF THE FIRE, is

being released in America for the very first time. Published by Top

Shelf, VOICE OF THE FIRE will be presented in hardcover format,

featuring an introduction by Neil Gaiman, thirteen full-color plates by

Jos Villarrubia (Promethea & The Mirror of Love), and a dust jacket

designed by Chip Kidd.

It will be solicited in the JUNE Diamond PREVIEWS catalog that hits

stores on May 28th. Please note that this novel will move very quickly,

so if you want a copy, be sure to ask your local retailer to advance

order it for you from the PREVIEWS catalog in June. VOICE OF THE FIRE

will ship to stores, from these orders, in August.

VOICE OF THE FIRE


by Alan Moore


with an introduction by Neil Gaiman, thirteen color plates by Jos Villarrubia, & a dust jacket design by Chip Kidd.

"Do not trust the tales, or the town, or even the man who tells the

tales. Trust only the voice of the fire." -- Neil Gaiman, from the

Introduction

"A burning bush of a novel full of earthy wonder and wisdom, Voice of

the Fire is a head-spinning trip down time's sacred whirlpool." --

Richard Gehr, Village Voice

"Alan Moore is the best and most innovative writer in graphic novels. I

have been a huge admirer for years." -- Michael Moorcock

"Alan takes genuine risks and justifies them: you feel, all the way, the

rush of discovery; authorial privilege endangered by the savage voices

he allows into his head." -- Iain Sinclair

"A first novel, Voice Of The Fire, slices through the history of his

Northampton home, from the Stone Age up to his literal conjuring of an

ending from the world around him, swallowing hallucinogens, beaming in

messages from the TV -- a wild, shamanic stretching of the writers art."

-- Nick Hasted, Uncut

"A daring, unsettling work of literature." -- Locus

"Remarkable, savage and, at times, unbearably beautifulā€¦" -- Time Out

In a story full of lust, madness and ecstasy, we meet twelve distinctive

characters that lived in the same region of central England in the span

of six thousand years. Their narratives are woven together in patterns

of recurring events, strange traditions and uncanny visions. First, a

cave-boy looses his mother, falls in love and learns a deadly lesson. He

is followed by an extraordinary cast of characters: a murderess who

impersonates her victim, a fisherman who believes he has become a

different species, a Roman emissary who realizes the bitter truth about

the Empire, a crippled nun who is healed miraculously by a disturbing

apparition, an old crusader whose faith is destroyed by witnessing the

ultimate relic, two witches, lovers, who burn at the stakeā€¦ Each

interconnected tale traces a path in a journey of discovery of the

secrets of the land.

In its last chapter, Moore himself describes the novel: "It's about the

vital message that the stiff lips of decapitated men still shape; the

testament of black and spectral dogs written in piss across our bad

dreams. It's about raising the dead to tell us what they know. It is a

bridge, a crossing-point, a worn spot in the curtain between our world

and the underworld, between the mortar and the myth, fact and fiction, a

threadbare gauze no thicker than a page. It's about the powerful

glossolalia of witches and their magical revision of the texts we live

in. None of this is speakable."

In the tradition of Kipling's Puck of Pook's Hill, Schwob's Imaginary

Lives and Borges' A Universal History of Infamy, Moore travels through

history blending truth and conjecture, in a novel that is dazzling,

moving, sometimes tragic, but always mesmerizing.

This edition presents Voice of the Fire for the first time in hardcover

format, featuring an introduction by Neil Gaiman, thirteen full-color

plates by Jos Villarrubia (Promethea & The Mirror of Love), and a dust

jacket designed by Chip Kidd.

-- $26.95, 336 pages, Hardcover Novel with 13 Full-Color Plates, ISBN 1-891830-44-9

 
CBR News

Send This Article to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.