Image Comics Reveals "The Strange Talent of Luther Strode"

Tue, July 12th, 2011 at 9:17am PDT | Updated: July 12th, 2011 at 9:30am

Comic Books
CBR News Team, Editor

Send This to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.

Official Press Release

THE STRANGE TALENT OF LUTHER STRODE from Image Comics already has fans asking: superhero or slasher? Writer Justin Jordan and artist Tradd Moore aren't ready to say, but in October, their debut six-part series will begin to tell the tale of a young antihero who gets exactly what he wished for... and then some!

"The obvious inspiration for THE STRANGE TALENT OF LUTHER STRODE is the old Charles Atlas type courses that used to be advertised, along with Sea Monkeys and X-Ray specs, in the back of comics," explained Jordan. "I was thinking about that and started wondering what would happen if it really worked. What if you found this program that suddenly allowed you to start kicking ass after having sand kicked in your face for most of your life? How would you handle that? What do you do when you have the power to turn the tables on the people who’ve been hurting you?"

"I love drawing ridiculous fight scenes, stupid amounts of gore, and people getting punched extremely hard," Moore added, "so if you enjoy looking at any of those things, then you're in for a good time."

Added Image Comics Publisher Eric Stephenson, "Justin pitched Luther Strode to me back in November, and I was immediately impressed by how fully realized his and Tradd's vision for this series was. I'd put Justin and Tradd in the same class as first-timers like Jonathan Hickman and The Luna Brothers, guys we literally pulled out of the submissions pile who went on to produce some truly amazing work. Everyone who's seen and read this stuff has been blown away."

THE STRANGE TALENT OF LUTHER STRODE begins with a scrawny kid who's fed up with his lack of physical prowess. Luther Strode plans to make some improvements by way of a mail order book that promises to help him bulk up and buff out! Amazingly, the program works far better than young Luther expected. In fact, he begins to liken his new-found physique and abilities to those of a superhero! But can he continue to think of himself as a superhero when the effects of his mysterious abilities look more like a slasher film?

THE STRANGE TALENT OF LUTHER STRODE #1, a 32-page full color comic book that will appeal to fans of Kick-Ass and INVINCIBLE, will be available for order in the August issue of Previews Catalog and goes on sale October 5, 2011 for $2.99.

ABOUT IMAGE COMICS
Image Comics is a comic book and graphic novel publisher founded in 1992 by a collective of best-selling artists. Image has since gone on to become one of the largest comics publishers in the United States. Image currently has five partners: Robert Kirkman, Erik Larsen, Todd McFarlane, Marc Silvestri and Jim Valentino. It consists of five major houses: Todd McFarlane Productions, Top Cow Productions, Shadowline, Skybound and Image Central. Image publishes comics and graphic novels in nearly every genre, sub-genre, and style imaginable. It offers science fiction, romance, horror, crime fiction, historical fiction, humor and more by the finest artists and writers working in the medium today. For more information, visit www.imagecomics.com.

TAGS:  image comics, the strange talent of luther strode, justin jordan, tradd moore

 
CBR News