"Luther Strode" Continues Strange Talent of Selling Out

Tue, November 8th, 2011 at 2:27pm PST

Comic Books
CBR News Team, Editor

Official Press Release

Image Comics' grisly high school drama, THE STRANGE TALENT OF LUTHER STRODE, the new series that combines elements of superhero comics and slasher movies in one fantastically gory comic book, has been getting tons of outstanding reviews and selling more copies than retailers can restock! Like their first issue, writer Justin Jordan, artist Tradd Moore, and colorist Felipe Sobreiro's THE STRANGE TALENT OF LUTHER STRODE #2 has already sold out at distribution level, prompting the publisher to rush the much sought after second issue back to press right away!

"Selling out one is awesome. Selling out again is... I don't know, double plus awesome?" said Jordan. "It's cool, regardless! Thanks to everyone for supporting the book, and I hope you all enjoy the rest!"

"I can't even express how excited and thankful we all are," added Moore. "This is the kind of reception that everyone dreams of having from their debut series, but to actually have so many people embrace an unknown series from a couple of newcomers has been an amazing experience."

The response has been unanimously enthusiastic, with reviewers such as Joey Esposito at IGN recommending, "If you haven't climbed on board the Luther Strode bandwagon yet, believe the hype. This series is good," and Greg McElhatton at Comic Book Resources describing this debut series as, "...a gory, awesome, nasty, gripping, crazy, fun comic. It's by the kind of new voices that comics needs, an energetic infusion of raw talent."

As the second issue of THE STRANGE TALENT OF LUTHER STRODE #2 begins, our titular character must now face being suspended from school for putting a bully in the hospital. However, that means Luther can spend his days figuring out his newfound abilities and getting to know Petra, his new girlfriend. Unfortunately, it’s not going to last long with The Librarian killing his way toward Luther and those that he loves!

A second printing of THE STRANGE TALENT OF LUTHER STRODE #2 (SEP118142), a 32-page full color comic book that will appeal to fans of Kick-Ass and INVINCIBLE, is available for order now and will be back in stores on December 7nd for $2.99, alongside THE STRANGE TALENT OF LUTHER STRODE #3 (OCT110572). For more information about this increasingly gruesome comic, THE STRANGE TALENT OF LUTHER STRODE, and its creators, visit www.thestrangetalentoflutherstrode.com.

ABOUT IMAGE COMICS

Image Comics is a comic book and graphic novel publisher founded in 1992 by a collective of best-selling artists. Image has since gone on to become one of the largest comics publishers in the United States. Image currently has five partners: Robert Kirkman, Erik Larsen, Todd McFarlane, Marc Silvestri and Jim Valentino. It consists of five major houses: Todd McFarlane Productions, Top Cow Productions, Shadowline, Skybound and Image Central. Image publishes comics and graphic novels in nearly every genre, sub-genre, and style imaginable. It offers science fiction, romance, horror, crime fiction, historical fiction, humor and more by the finest artists and writers working in the medium today. For more information, visit www.imagecomics.com.

TAGS:  image comics, the strange talent of luther strode, justin jordan, tradd moore, felipe sobreiro

CBR News

Send This Article to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.