Boom's "Outcast" Changes Title to "Valen the Outcast"

Mon, December 5th, 2011 at 12:09pm PST | Updated: December 5th, 2011 at 12:15pm

Comic Books
CBR News Team, Editor

Send This to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.

Official Press Release

BOOM! Studios is proud to announce a title change for its successful new launch of OUTCAST #1, shipping December 7, 2011 to comic book stores worldwide for only $1 -- the new title will be VALEN THE OUTCAST.

"We were contacted by another entity who holds the trademark for the name 'Outcast' which we were unaware of," said BOOM!'s Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Ross Richie. "We have the utmost respect for the other company and were happy to make the change. Our central character is Valen Brand, the character itself is not named Outcast, so altering the title is an easy change we can make."

"Orders were strong on this new series from Michael Alan Nelson and Matteo Scalera," said Matt Gagnon, Editor-in-Chief, "and this book sees them both doing the best work of their careers. Everyone over here's been blown away. Fans of Game of Thrones and Conan shouldn’t miss this action-packed #1 issue."

VALEN THE OUTCAST tells the story of King Valen Brand. He was a just king and a great warrior until he was killed by a Necromancer in battle and resurrected as one of the walking dead. Now he’s considered an abomination in his own realm, an outcast with only one purpose: to restore his lost soul…

VALEN THE OUTCAST #1 is written by Michael Alan Nelson (28 DAYS LATER, ROBERT E. HOWARD’S HAWKS OF OUTREMER) with art by Matteo Scalera (DEADPOOL). This title ships in December with the main covers in a 30/30/30/10 split by Liam Sharp, Cary Nord, Alé Garza and Trevor Hairsine, a 1-in-25 incentive by Chad Hardin, a 1-in-50 sketch incentive by Trevor Hairsine, a 1-in-75 sketch incentive by Alé Garza, and a special 1-in-200 Joe Jusko variant cover which will be offered slabbed by CGG with a 9.8 Near Mint Grade.

VALEN THE OUTCAST features 22 pages of story and carries a price point of $1.00 with a Diamond Code of OCT110899.

About BOOM! Studios
Founded by Ross Richie, BOOM! Studios (www.boom-studios.com) is 2009 and 2010’s “Best Publisher” and an Eisner and Harvey Award-winner, generating a constellation of bestselling comic books and graphic novels with the industry’s top talent, including Mark Waid’s IRREDEEMABLE, new HELLRAISER comics written by Clive Barker, PLANET OF THE APES, 28 DAYS LATER, and Philip K. Dick’s DO ANDROIDS DREAM OF ELECTRIC SHEEP?. BOOM!’s all ages imprint KABOOM! publishes Charles Schulz’ PEANUTS, Roger Langridge’s SNARKED, and Scholastic’s WORDGIRL. BOOM!’s lit comix-focused imprint, BOOM! Town, recently won the Eisner Award for its first book, Shannon Wheeler’s I THOUGHT YOU WOULD BE FUNNIER.


TAGS:  boom! studios, valen the outcast, michael alan nelson, matteo scalera

 
CBR News