CCI: BOOM! Studios Looks to the Future

Tue, July 17th, 2012 at 6:58am PDT | Updated: July 18th, 2012 at 8:50am

Comic Books
David Winnick, Contributing Writer

Send This to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.

"Hypernaturals" and "Higher Earth" were two of the many books discussed at BOOM! Studios' CCI panel

The creative minds behind publisher BOOM! Studios' line of titles greeted fans at Comic-Con International in San Diego on Saturday to discuss their current and future projects. The room was packed with excited fans, nearly every seat full.

First up was a book for fans of intense science fiction. "Hypernaturals" is the brain child of comic book Sci-Fi legends Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning with art by Andres Guinaldo. The story revolves around a computer system which completely controls human culture. The book follows a core team of super heroes who exist in an intense science fiction world "These are really big science fiction ideas we are dealing with," said Abnett.

Writer Sam Humphries was on hand to discuss his comic "Fanboys vs. Zombies" with artist Jerry Gaylord. The book takes place in a fictional version of our world where a zombie outbreak has occurred at Comic-Con. Humphries was surprised by how many fans were in attendance at the convention after the warning of a possible out-break at Comic-Con. The writer pointed out that the book was released in March and yet, "You all still showed up." Fans of the book even got the chance to have themselves drawn onto a cover by artist Jerry Gaylord with a Comic-Con exclusive sketch cover available at the show.

The conversation turned to Humphries' other BOOM! title, "Higher Earth," which takes place in a universe where one hundred different parallel earths exist. These earths have been slowly conquered by characters from one particular earth. It is up to protagonists Rex and Heidi to fight for the freedom of the 99 enslaved Earths.

Fans of Batman and Dr. Doom will surely enjoy Si Spurrier and Jeffrey Edwards' "Extermination." After an alien invasion, a Batman-like hero and a Doom-like villain are forced to join together in an attempt to survive. Editor in Chief Matt Gagnon made it clear that these characters are neither Batman nor Dr. Doom, "because that would get us sued."

"Steed and Mrs. Peel" tells new stories with the other Avengers while "Planet of the Apes" adds a new ongoing this year

While most people associate "The Avengers" with Marvel's team of super heroes, BOOM! wants readers to remember the original Avengers. New Eisner Award-winning writer Mark Waid will write "Steed & Mrs. Peel" with co-writer Caleb Monroe and artist Steve Bryant which follows the adventures of the British super spy duo. In fact, these Avengers were the original inspiration for longtime X-Men villains The Hellfire Club.

Gagnon was excited to reveal that BOOM! would be releasing an original graphic novel titled "Michael Midas Champion" by writer Jordan B. Gorfinkel and artist Scott Benefiel. The book is designed for younger readers and will tie in with much of the anti-bullying campaign that has been going on for the past year.

For the past two years, BOOM! has been running an ongoing series of "Planet of the Apes" comics. Gagnon promised even more apes to come. A second ongoing series will be hitting the comics racks, "Planet of the Apes: Cataclysm." The book will have covers by Alex Ross and will feature some intense stories. "The opening is not to be missed," said Gagnon, who also promised some exciting story twists in issue #2.

Fans of Steven Grant and Mataes Santolouco's "2 Guns" are going to get the chance to see their favorite characters up on the big screen in 2013. The movie adaptation will star Mark Wahlberg and Denzel Washington as two very confused thieves who are actually two very confused under-cover cops. The film is being directed by Baltasar Kormakur ("Contraband") from a script by Blake Masters and will also star Edward James Olmos, Bill Paxton, James Marsden and Paula Patton.

Children's imprint KaBOOM! will feature the first ever story in which the Charles Schultz created "Peanuts" characters leave their neighborhood. Charlie Brown, Lucy, Snoopy, Woodstock and the rest of the gang will be winging their way to Japan in an upcoming full length graphic novel "It's Tokyo Charlie Brown" this coming October.

"Snarked" won an Eisner Award and "Adventure Time" continues to be a huge success for the publisher

"Adventure Time with Finn and Jake" creator Pendleton Ward is adding yet another series to his workload. "The Bravest Warriors" is the story of high school students who live in outer space. "We're following the 'Adventure Time' playbook on this," said Gagnon, who told fans they would likely enjoy the new book.

Then there is the work being done by the creators under the Boom Town imprint of Boom Studios. On Friday, Boom won its second Eisner Award for the series "Snarked," by Roger Langridge. Their first Eisner was won by Shannon Wheeler for his work on "I Thought You Would Be Funnier." Wheeler revealed that the majority of the comics contained within that collection were rejected by The New Yorker where he frequently contributes because they were, "too snarky or dirty."

Have you ever wondered what happens to the normal people when the superheroes swing off into the night to fight crime? Writer Grace Randolph is doing her best to answer that question in "Supurbia." The four-issue series has done so well that Gagnon and Randolph revealed it would be moving forward as an ongoing series. "The reviews for this book have been really special," said Gagnon of the critical reception to the series.

Last but not least the panel moved to a new book with plenty of grind house appeal. Created by Matt Gagnon and Felipe Smith, "Freelancers" follows two girls raised in a Kung Fu orphanage and will be written by "Dark Wing Duck" writer Ian Brill.

Stay tuned to CBR News for more coverage of Comic-Con International 2012.

TAGS:  cci2012, boom! studios, hypernaturals, fanboys vs zombies, higher earth, extermination, steed and mrs peel, michael midas champion, planet of the apes, 2 guns, peanuts, adventure time, the bravest warriors, snarked, i thought you would be funnier, supurbia, freelancers

 
CBR News