"Superior Foes," "New Warriors" End in November

Tue, August 19th, 2014 at 8:58am PDT

Comic Books
Steve Sunu, Staff Writer/Reviews Editor
69

Marvel's November 2014 Solicitations bring disappointing news for fans of "Superior Foes of Spider-Man" and "New Warriors" -- both series will see their final issues come November. Nick Spencer and Steve Lieber's "Superior Foes of Spider-Man" #17 puts an endcap on the quirky, offbeat series about Spider-Man's b-list rogues gallery, while Chris Yost and Marcus To's "New Warriors" #12 will wrap the resurgence of one of the Marvel U's beloved, but not well-known, superhero teams.

Although both "Superior Foes" and "New Warriors" had steadily dropped since their debut issues in July 2013 and February 2014 respectively, neither were Marvel's lowest-selling Marvel Universe title -- but both were very close to being the lowest Marvel Universe title that hasn't already been slated to end. The only two ongoing series that sold lower than "Superior Foes" and "New Warriors" in June and July that weren't already scheduled for cancellation were "Deadly Hands of Kung Fu" and "Iron Patriot," both selling around 6,000 to 7,000 copies below "Superior Foes" and "New Warriors."

Check out the final issue solicitations and covers for both series below.

NEW WARRIORS #12
CHRISTOPHER YOST (W)
MARCUS TO (A)
Cover by STACEY LEE
• SERIES FINALE! It’s been a hard road for the New Warriors, and after fighting the Evolutionaries, and saving the planet once or twice, things reach their shocking conclusion!
• After months of battling, the New Warriors finally find some measure of peace, but will it last?
32 PGS./Rated T+ …$3.99

THE SUPERIOR FOES OF SPIDER-MAN #17
NICK SPENCER (W) • STEVE LIEBER (A/C)
• This is it! The end! The finale! The big wrapuperoo!!
32 PGS./Rated T+ …$3.99

Discuss this story in CBR's Marvel Comics forum.  |  69 Comments

TAGS:  marvel comics, superior foes of spider-man, nick spencer, steve lieber, new warriors, chris yost, marcus to

 
CBR News

Send This Article to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.