Trick-Or-Treat: Previewing Gigantic's "Hellcity"

Fri, August 25th, 2006 at 12:00am PDT

Comic Books
Jonah Weiland, Executive Producer/Publisher

[Ed. Note: The following preview contains adult language.]

Official Press Release

This October, just in time for Halloween, Gigantic Graphic Novels will release Hellcity, the first graphic novel by award winning screenwriter Macon Blair and hot up and coming artist Joe Flood.

"Macon and I go way back," explains Rick Spears Publisher of Gigantic Graphic Novels, "He knows where the bodies are buried…I'm not kidding. He help me bury them." You may recognize Macon Blair as the anti-hero form Spears' own series, Teenagers From Mars. "Yeah, Rick really screwed me up with the whole Teenagers from Mars thing because he took my name and likeness but then made me way cooler and way better looking in his book. Now people meet me and they're all disappointed, like 'You're just some bum, you never fought censorship, you can't even draw.' Thanks a million, Spears." states Blair.

"I'm always bugging Macon to show me what he's working in and one day he pulls out Hellcity," says Spears. "It was this huge crazy, hilarious, monster of a script and just the kind of thing I'm looking for, for Gigantic." With a script in hand an artist still had to be found. Blair explains, "We broke Hellcity into 3, 100+ pages and we need to find an insane artist that could pull off such a massive project. That's when Rick introduced me to Flood." "I had had my eye on Joe Flood for a while too, explains Spears. "He's one of the recent crop of fantastic artists coming out of SVA (School of Visual Arts) here in NYC." "To be honest I had my doubts when Rick and Macon first approached me", states Flood, "But then I read the script was floored and I just knew I had to do this."

So what is Hellcity? It's Lurid pulp fiction straight from the mean streets of Hell's capital 'burg! Demonic femme fatales and damned detectives! Shadowy schemers and tormented dreamers! Blackmail, betrayal and hot-blooded murder...it's a powder keg town, baby, and one bad secret's gonna light the fuse! Welcome to Hellcity an edgy twist on the pulp fiction genre, mixing classic noir elements with demonic horror into a unique new dark comedy. Hellcity plays on the long history of pulp fiction newly reinvigorated by the likes of Quentin Tarantino and Frank Miller. Taking a classic crime noir story and mixing in a hard shot of demonic horror, Hellcity is a unique new graphic novel that will appeal to fans of Sin City and Hellblazer.

Hellcity vol.1(of 3) ISBN: 0-9763038-3-3, Diamond order number AUG063321, a 104 page black and white graphic novel with a full-color cover, will be available from Gigantic Graphic Novels October 2006 at the finest comic shops for $13.95.

Click any of the images below to launch the "Hellcity" preview.
Page 36 Page 37 Page 38
Page 39 Page 40 Page 41
Page 42 Page 43 Page 44
Page 45 Page 46

 
CBR News

Send This Article to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.