Boom! Studios Announces Spy Thriller, "Left On Mission"

Mon, December 18th, 2006 at 12:00am PST

Comic Books
CBR News Team, Editor

Back in July, CBR News brought you word of a new comic called "Left on Mission & Revenge." In advance of this year's Comic-Con International, writer Chip Mosher was actively seeking a publisher for his 170 page graphic novel, which was to be illustrated by Nye Wright. Christmas has come early for Mosher, as the book, now called simply "Left On Mission," has just landed at Boom! Studios and will be published as a series in March of next year and drawn by Francesco Francavilla. Boom! issued today a press release with all the details.

Official Press Release

Wizard Magazine's award-winning "Best New Publisher," BOOM! Studios, released information and images announcing its new series for March, 2007: LEFT ON MISSION. Created by Chip Mosher, LEFT ON MISSION features stunning pencil and inkwork from rising star Francesco (Sea of Red, The Black Coat) Francavilla with two first issue covers from Steph Stamb.

A spy thriller in the vein of The Bourne Identity, LEFT ON MISSION spotlights former agent Eric Westfall who has been called out of his perfect suburban retirement, complete with wife and kid, to recover an agent gone rogue. He has to stop his target from auctioning a stolen hard-drive, chock full of classified info, on the black market for $50 million. His mission: turn the target back into a loyal agent for the government, or kill them. But things get complicated when it's revealed that Westfall has been called back to duty specifically because he has history with his target - romantic history. Will he be able to take down Emma, his ex-lover? LEFT ON MISSION is a monthly series for fans of gritty, dark espionage thrillers like Casino Royale!

"All three of these creators are talents to watch," said BOOM! Studios publisher Ross Richie. "Most people are familiar with our roster of creators, whether it be Keith Giffen, J.M. DeMatteis, EUREKA creator Andrew Cosby, or EUREKA series writer Johanna Stokes, among many others. While we have an array of seasoned veterans well known for the stature of their creations, I'm confident that newcomer Chip Mosher will join their ranks. Francesco pounds out bold, confident pages of lush brushwork with great regularity. He's a powerful storyteller who's really hitting his stride. And Stamb, on the covers, is a revelation."

This Christmas has seen a makeover of the venerable James Bond franchise into a more realistic, accessible, darker series of films – to great success. The Bourne franchise set the stage, with the third installment of the series on the way soon. LEFT ON MISSION operates in this new film tradition, while at the same time bringing a new voice onto the scene.

"Our story's really the story of a guy who's found safety and peace, but now has to go back into his previous life and face potential tragedy and danger," said series writer Mosher. "This isn't just about gunplay. It's a dark emotional journey honing in on a man who has to grapple with ghosts of his past, and fears they'll consume him."

LEFT ON MISSION #1 features two covers by Steph Stamb, item order codes: JAN073469 and JAN073470

 
CBR News

Send This Article to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.