The Scoop Awards Book Of The Year To "Enigma Cipher" #1

Thu, December 21st, 2006 at 12:00am PST

Comic Books
CBR News Team, Editor

Official Press Release

Los Angeles, CA: Gemstone Publishing's e-mail newsletter and site THE SCOOP has awarded ENIGMA CIPHER #1 from BOOM! Studios the #1 slot for "Top Ten Comics of 2006."

"...It may very well be the best thing that Boom! Studios has published to date (and if you look at their track record, that's saying quite a lot)," The Scoop wrote, and "Enigma Cipher #1 is one of the most gripping thrillers we've read in a long time..."

Enigma Cipher came in at #1 in a three-way tie for first place, alongside other luminaries like Richard Donner and Geoff Johns' issue of Action Comics and Joss Whedon on Astounding X-Men.

"The Scoop has always been very supportive of BOOM!, but I am just blown away by this," BOOM! publisher Ross Richie wrote. "It's a fantastic compliment, and I am really thrilled to be in such august company."

About THE ENIGMA CIPHER two issue mini-series: The Enigma Cipher – Nazi Germany used this mysterious machine to decrypt and encrypt their communications during the war. Now, in the present, a history professor gets his hands on an Enigma encrypted file that's been lost since WWII -- grad student Casey cracks it, and the professor and other people involved in her project show up dead. The secrets that it holds are the key to uncovering Nazi spies hidden at the highest level of government positions since WWII... The mystery of THE DAVINCI CODE with the international action of THE BOURNE IDENTITY. Gritty Hitchcockian thrills for fans of Warren Ellis' Global Frequency, Desolation Jones, and Red.

About BOOM! Studios: It's been an award-winning year for BOOM!, who received "Best New Publisher" from Wizard Magazine and was nominated for the same by Diamond Comic Distributors. ZOMBIE TALES was "Book of the Month" in Wizard, and TAG was selected by Broken Frontier as one of the best horror comics of the year.

 
CBR News

Send This Article to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.