History Comes Alive - For Those Who Live To Tell It At Alias

Sun, March 26th, 2006 at 12:00am PST

Comic Books
Arune Singh, Staff Writer

Official Press Release

March 24, 2006 (San Diego, CA) -- Creative team Ed Lavallee and Grant Bond take readers on a journey down the darkened streets of Revolutionary- Era America, to find what horrors lurk within its cold shadows -- all in the release of REVERE #1, coming in June from Alias Comics!

"Taking on REVERE was an easy decision. It's exactly our kind of story; bringing a recognizable character into a fictional story," said Alias Publisher, Brett Burner. "Not only do we love the book itself--the concept, the writing, the artwork-but I'm a personal fan of the Revolutionary era. REVERE is a great original story in the vein of Washington Irving's Legend of Sleepy Hollow and Rip Van Winkle."

In REVERE #1, on sale now in Previews catalog (order code: AP062862), a supernatural killer stalks the townspeople of Boston, Massachusetts, and renowned patriot, silversmith and monster hunter, Paul Revere is called in to fight the evil!

"I was toying with the idea of creating a monster hunter-type character, but wanted a different setting, something that would challenge the character due to a lack of technology," said writer/creator Ed Lavallee of the inspiration of REVERE.

Here's how Alias Comics describes the story:

REVERE #1

Written by Ed Lavallee, with artwork by Grant Bond

Through cannon fire, and musket smoke, America's war for independence was hard fought by The Sons of Liberty. But beneath it all, shrouded in secrecy, another battle was being fought, a battle against the creatures of the night. Two beacons blaze to life in the steeple of the Old North Church spurring silversmith and freedom fighter, Paul Revere, into action. History tells us the signal was to warn of British troops on the move, but in reality the warning had a more sinister message... WEREWOLVES! Revere tracks a werewolf to a secluded cabin, where he is sure he has cornered the beast, but all is not as it appears. Revere soon finds himself torn between upholding his oath to protect the colonies, and sparing a young boys life! Join us on the road to revolution in this first, all-action, pulse pounding, issue!

-- 24-pages, full color, four-issue monthly limited series -- $3.50

"I think the quality of creators at Alias is top notch and the product they are putting on the shelves is a dynamic departure from a lot of stuff that is currently out there. I submitted REVERE to Alias in December of 2005; I think I heard back from them the next day! With that level of enthusiasm, why would I go anywhere else? They have been great to work with," added Lavallee.

REVERE (order code: AP062862) is on sale now as a spotlight item in the April issue of Previews catalog for release in June 2006! Relive this fictional retelling of American history in 24 full-color pages for only $3.50!

Be sure you visit your local comic shop to find REVERE and other great comics from Alias Comics, and visit Alias online at http://www.aliascomics.net!

 
CBR News

Send This Article to a Friend

Separate multiple email address with commas.

You must state your name.

You must enter your email address.