Doug Zawisza

Reviewer
Livonia, MI
Plattsburgh, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Doug Zawisza, also known as the Black Knight, was a Polish knight and nobleman. He served as a soldier and diplomat under the Polish king Wladyslaw II and Hungarian-Bohemian king Sigismund of Luxembourg. During his life, he was regarded as a model of knightly virtues and was renowned for winning multiple tournaments. His nickname is due to his black hair and his custom-made, black armor, which is kept at the Jasna Góra Monastery.

After his death, he was praised by the Polish historian Jan Dlugosz, the poet and Canon of Gniezno Adam Swinka, and by King Sigismund of Luxembourg. Zawisza became a folk hero in Poland, famed for reliability, and loyalty. The Polish Scouts oath reads partly: "...polegac na nim jak na Zawiszy" ('[you can] rely on [a boyscout] as on Zawisza'). A monument to Zawisza at Golubac fortress, Serbia, bears the inscription: "In Golubac, his life was taken by the Turks, the famous Polish knight, the symbol of courage and honor, Zawisza the Black. Glory to the hero!" Several Polish football clubs and other sports teams were named after him, including, Zawisza Bydgoszcz.

FIRST COMIC: "Justice League of America" #192

FAVORITE CHARACTER: Robotman/Cliff Steele

Articles By Doug Zawisza

Showing results 21-40 of 2563

REVIEW: Gleason's "Robin: Son of Batman" #1 Makes a Good First Impression

Mon, June 22nd, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Patrick Gleason's "Robin: Son of Batman" #1 is full of "pages with fun images, emotive characters and exciting action."

REVIEW: Bendis & Sorrentino Pack "Old Man Logan" #2 Full of Action

Fri, June 19th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Brian Michael Bendis and Andrea Sorrentino create "a solid story, vital characters and plenty of action" in "Old Man Logan" #2.

REVIEW: Williams & Barrows' "Martian Manhunter" #1 Feels Epic

Thu, June 18th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Rob Williams and Eddy Barrows' "Martian Manhunter" #1 "delivers the sci-fi horror of a sleeper alien invasion plot cracking wide open."

REVIEW: "Ghostbusters: Get Real" #1 is a Love Letter to the Franchise

Wed, June 17th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"For fans of the franchise, Erik Burnham and Dan Schoening's 'Ghostbusters: Get Real' #1 is certain to become indispensable."

REVIEW: Aaron & Sprouse Make "Thors" #1 "a Must-Read"

Tue, June 16th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"For those who have truly enjoyed... 'Thor: God of Thunder' and 'Thor,' Jason Aaron and Chris Sprouse's 'Thors' #1 is a comic you cannot miss."

REVIEW: "Captain Marvel & the Carol Corps" #1 Introduces a World Full of Adventure

Thu, June 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"With the characters effectively established in 'Captain Marvel & the Carol Corps" #1, DeConnick, Thompson and Lopez are ready to continue the adventure."

REVIEW: Spurrier & Walker Capture Elsa Bloodstone's Character in "Marvel Zombies" #1

Thu, June 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Si Spurrier and Kev Walker's "Marvel Zombies" #1 is "a solid introduction to a strong, enjoyable character."

REVIEW: Smith & Gedeon Pack Motorized Mayhem into "Ghost Racers" #1

Tue, June 9th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Felipe Smith and Juan Gedeon's "Ghost Racers" #1 "offers readers a powerful opportunity to have their gears stripped and their minds blown."

REVIEW: Bennett & Norton's "Years of Future Past" #1 Packs Promise & a Strong Premise

Fri, June 5th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Marguerite Bennett and Mike Norton's "Years of Future Past" #1 is "filled with uneasy predicaments, interpersonal challenges and a cliffhanger."

5-STAR REVIEW: Corson & Duarte's "Bizarro" #1 Has Humor & Heart

Thu, June 4th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Heath Corson and Gustavo Duarte's "Bizarro" #1 "will certainly hit the spot for readers jonesing for something different and fun."

REVIEW: Johns & Fabok's "Justice League" #41 Feels Like the Cornerstone of a New Era

Wed, June 3rd, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Geoff Johns and Jason Fabok's "Justice League" #41 "is a grand new start, with revelations and jawdroppers aplenty."

REVIEW: "Inhumans: Attilan Rising" #1 Offers Opportunity & Intrigue

Thu, May 28th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Charles Soule, John Timms and Roberto Poggi's "Inhumans: Attilan Rising" #1 "puts a new spin on the Inhumans, Battleworld and Lord Doom's inner circle."

5-STAR REVIEW: Weaver & Duggan Deliver Lively Adventure in "The Infinity Gauntlet" #1

Thu, May 28th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"There's a lot to like in Dustin Weaver and Gerry Duggan's 'The Infinity Gauntlet' #1, and a lot more to look forward to in future issues."

REVIEW: "Convergence: Justice League of America" #2 Spotlights the Team's Potential

Mon, May 25th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Fabian Nicieza and ChrisCross's "Convergence: Justice League of America" #2 proves "the Justice League Detroit has story characters worth investigating."

REVIEW: Snyder, Jock & Hollingsworth Bring Their Very Best to "Wytches" #6

Fri, May 22nd, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Scott Snyder, Jock and Matt Hollingsworth's "Wytches" #6 is "exactly the high note a story should end on."

REVIEW: "Daredevil" #15.1 is "Another Fine Addition" to Matt Murdock's Adventures

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Mark Waid, Chris Samnee, Marc Guggenheim and Peter Krause's "Daredevil" #15.1 is "a fun offering for fans."

REVIEW: "Master of Kung Fu" #1 Delivers "a Smart Introduction"

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Haden Blackman and Dalibor Talajic's "Master of Kung Fu" #1 is "a briskly paced story filled with levels of detail and churning plot construction."

ADV. REVIEW: "A-Force" #1 is a Triumph

Tue, May 19th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

G. Willow Wilson, Marguerite Bennett, Jorge Molina and Craig Yeung's "A-Force" #1 "muscles its way into your heart through sheer quality."

ADV. REVIEW: Humphries & Laming Eagerly Invite Absurdity in "Planet Hulk" #1

Tue, May 19th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Every panel of every page in Sam Humphries and Marc Laming's 'Planet Hulk' #1 is a celebration of comics."

REVIEW: "Howard the Duck" #3 is Yet Another Feather in Marvel's Cap

Fri, May 15th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Fans of 'The Unbeatable Squirrel-Girl' and 'Rocket Raccoon' will feel right at home with Howard" in Chip Zdarsky & Joe Quinones' "Howard the Duck" #3.

Batman Beyond #3

Fri, August 7th, 2015 | Category: Review

Fans of "Batman Beyond," "Futures End" or Tim Drake should jump onto Dan Jurgens and Bernard Chang's "Batman Beyond" #3, which does a great job of recapping and moving forward in one issue.

Darth Vader #8

Fri, August 7th, 2015 | Category: Review

In "Darth Vader" #8, writer Kieron Gillen and artist Salvador Larroca set a group of bounty hunters loose on the Empire, and it goes better than it should.

Guardians of Knowhere #2

Thu, August 6th, 2015 | Category: Review

Brian Michael Bendis and Mike Deodato give readers the origin of Yotat in "Guardians of Knowhere" #2.

Siege #2

Thu, August 6th, 2015 | Category: Review

As the foretold siege approaches the Shield, writer Kieron Gillen and artist Filipe Andrade rally Abigail Brand's forces and treat readers to a character study in the face of certain annihilation in "Siege" #2.

Cyborg #1

Thu, July 23rd, 2015 | Category: Review

Vic Stone finally gets his own ongoing series in David F. Walker, Ivan Reis and Joe Prado's "Cyborg" #1.

Justice League: Gods and Monsters - Batman #1

Wed, July 22nd, 2015 | Category: Review

"Justice League: Gods and Monsters - Batman" #1 gives readers a more intimate examination of this divergent Dark Knight in a story written by J. M. DeMatteis and drawn by Matthew Dow Smith.

We Are Robin #2

Wed, July 22nd, 2015 | Category: Review

Lee Bermejo, Jorge Corona and Khary Randolph's "We Are Robin" #2 introduces Duke Thomas to the team, but not before he has a conversation with a mysterious man.

Doctor Fate #2

Mon, July 20th, 2015 | Category: Review

The adventures of the new Doctor Fate continue as Khalid Nassour tries to comprehend the strange new world that Paul Levitz and Sonny Liew are building in "Doctor Fate" #2.

Silver Surfer #13

Mon, July 20th, 2015 | Category: Review

The "Last Days of Silver Surfer" comes to readers in "Silver Surfer" #13, as storytellers Dan Slott and Michael Allred present "The Death of Everything That Ever Was or Ever Will Be."

Godzilla in Hell #1

Mon, July 20th, 2015 | Category: Review

James Stokoe's "Godzilla in Hell" #1 takes Godzilla and readers on a journey to Hell.

Hail Hydra #1

Fri, July 17th, 2015 | Category: Review

Ian or Leopold Zola? Writer Rick Remender and artist Roland Boschi ask the question on the first page of "Hail Hydra" #1, and the answer isn't obvious by the end of the issue.

Ant-Man Annual #1

Fri, July 17th, 2015 | Category: Review

Nick Spencer, Brent Schoonover and Ramon Rosanas put Hank Pym and Scott Lang on the case in "Ant-Man Annual" #1.

Superman/Wonder Woman #19

Thu, July 16th, 2015 | Category: Review

Peter J. Tomasi and Doug Mahnke's "Superman/Wonder Woman" #19, the second part of "Dark Truth," opens with Superman and Wonder Woman fighting the Suicide Squad in a graveyard.

Spider-Island #1

Mon, July 13th, 2015 | Category: Review

Christos Gage and Paco Diaz's "Spider-Island" #1 begins to answer the question: "What if the Spider-Queen Won?"

Bloodstrike #1

Mon, July 13th, 2015 | Category: Review

"Bloodstrike" #1 is here from Rob Liefeld.

Lando #1

Mon, July 13th, 2015 | Category: Review

Lando's not a system; he's a man – and, thanks to writer Charles Soule and artist Alex Maleev, Lando Calrissian is THE man in "Lando" #1.

1872 #1

Mon, July 13th, 2015 | Category: Review

Things are happening in the quiet town of Timely, as Mayor Wilson Fisk stirs up trouble for Sheriff Steve Rogers in Gerry Duggan and Nik Virella's "1872" #1.

Squadron Sinister #2

Mon, July 13th, 2015 | Category: Review

If the quintet headlining "Squadron Sinister" #2 wasn't enough, Marc Guggenheim and Carlos Pacheco also bring in the Frightful Four, the Howling Commandos, Mister Sinister and some New Universe characters.

Batman #42

Mon, July 13th, 2015 | Category: Review

"Superheavy" continues in "Batman" #42, as writer Scott Snyder and artist Greg Capullo continue to divulge how Gotham continues to change the new Batman.

Star Trek/Green Lantern: The Spectrum War #1

Wed, July 8th, 2015 | Category: Review

"Star Trek/Green Lantern" #1 blends two grand space sagas together and steps back to see what writer Mike Johnson and artist Angel Hernandez can come up with.

FirstPreviousNextLast