Doug Zawisza

Reviewer
Livonia, MI
Plattsburgh, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Doug Zawisza, also known as the Black Knight, was a Polish knight and nobleman. He served as a soldier and diplomat under the Polish king Wladyslaw II and Hungarian-Bohemian king Sigismund of Luxembourg. During his life, he was regarded as a model of knightly virtues and was renowned for winning multiple tournaments. His nickname is due to his black hair and his custom-made, black armor, which is kept at the Jasna Góra Monastery.

After his death, he was praised by the Polish historian Jan Dlugosz, the poet and Canon of Gniezno Adam Swinka, and by King Sigismund of Luxembourg. Zawisza became a folk hero in Poland, famed for reliability, and loyalty. The Polish Scouts oath reads partly: "...polegac na nim jak na Zawiszy" ('[you can] rely on [a boyscout] as on Zawisza'). A monument to Zawisza at Golubac fortress, Serbia, bears the inscription: "In Golubac, his life was taken by the Turks, the famous Polish knight, the symbol of courage and honor, Zawisza the Black. Glory to the hero!" Several Polish football clubs and other sports teams were named after him, including, Zawisza Bydgoszcz.

FIRST COMIC: "Justice League of America" #192

FAVORITE CHARACTER: Robotman/Cliff Steele

Articles By Doug Zawisza

Showing results 21-40 of 2533

REVIEW: Spurrier & Walker Capture Elsa Bloodstone's Character in "Marvel Zombies" #1

Thu, June 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Si Spurrier and Kev Walker's "Marvel Zombies" #1 is "a solid introduction to a strong, enjoyable character."

REVIEW: Smith & Gedeon Pack Motorized Mayhem into "Ghost Racers" #1

Tue, June 9th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Felipe Smith and Juan Gedeon's "Ghost Racers" #1 "offers readers a powerful opportunity to have their gears stripped and their minds blown."

REVIEW: Bennett & Norton's "Years of Future Past" #1 Packs Promise & a Strong Premise

Fri, June 5th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Marguerite Bennett and Mike Norton's "Years of Future Past" #1 is "filled with uneasy predicaments, interpersonal challenges and a cliffhanger."

5-STAR REVIEW: Corson & Duarte's "Bizarro" #1 Has Humor & Heart

Thu, June 4th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Heath Corson and Gustavo Duarte's "Bizarro" #1 "will certainly hit the spot for readers jonesing for something different and fun."

REVIEW: Johns & Fabok's "Justice League" #41 Feels Like the Cornerstone of a New Era

Wed, June 3rd, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Geoff Johns and Jason Fabok's "Justice League" #41 "is a grand new start, with revelations and jawdroppers aplenty."

REVIEW: "Inhumans: Attilan Rising" #1 Offers Opportunity & Intrigue

Thu, May 28th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Charles Soule, John Timms and Roberto Poggi's "Inhumans: Attilan Rising" #1 "puts a new spin on the Inhumans, Battleworld and Lord Doom's inner circle."

5-STAR REVIEW: Weaver & Duggan Deliver Lively Adventure in "The Infinity Gauntlet" #1

Thu, May 28th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"There's a lot to like in Dustin Weaver and Gerry Duggan's 'The Infinity Gauntlet' #1, and a lot more to look forward to in future issues."

REVIEW: "Convergence: Justice League of America" #2 Spotlights the Team's Potential

Mon, May 25th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Fabian Nicieza and ChrisCross's "Convergence: Justice League of America" #2 proves "the Justice League Detroit has story characters worth investigating."

REVIEW: Snyder, Jock & Hollingsworth Bring Their Very Best to "Wytches" #6

Fri, May 22nd, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Scott Snyder, Jock and Matt Hollingsworth's "Wytches" #6 is "exactly the high note a story should end on."

REVIEW: "Daredevil" #15.1 is "Another Fine Addition" to Matt Murdock's Adventures

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Mark Waid, Chris Samnee, Marc Guggenheim and Peter Krause's "Daredevil" #15.1 is "a fun offering for fans."

REVIEW: "Master of Kung Fu" #1 Delivers "a Smart Introduction"

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Haden Blackman and Dalibor Talajic's "Master of Kung Fu" #1 is "a briskly paced story filled with levels of detail and churning plot construction."

ADV. REVIEW: "A-Force" #1 is a Triumph

Tue, May 19th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

G. Willow Wilson, Marguerite Bennett, Jorge Molina and Craig Yeung's "A-Force" #1 "muscles its way into your heart through sheer quality."

ADV. REVIEW: Humphries & Laming Eagerly Invite Absurdity in "Planet Hulk" #1

Tue, May 19th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Every panel of every page in Sam Humphries and Marc Laming's 'Planet Hulk' #1 is a celebration of comics."

REVIEW: "Howard the Duck" #3 is Yet Another Feather in Marvel's Cap

Fri, May 15th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Fans of 'The Unbeatable Squirrel-Girl' and 'Rocket Raccoon' will feel right at home with Howard" in Chip Zdarsky & Joe Quinones' "Howard the Duck" #3.

REVIEW: Aaron & Dauterman Solve a Satisfying Mystery in "Thor" #8

Wed, May 13th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

An enigma since her introduction, Jason Aaron & Russell Dauterman keep readers guessing until the very end of the excellent "Thor" #8.

REVIEW: "Guardians Team-Up" #5 Has "Depth and Delight"

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Andy Lanning, Andy Schmidt and Gustavo Duarte's "Guardians Team-Up" #5 is "filled with exciting ideas and enjoyable characters."

REVIEW: Latour & Rodriguez's "Spider-Gwen" #4 Feels Fresh & Familiar

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jason Latour and Robbi Rodriguez create "the most emotionally gripping segment of this series to date" in "Spider-Gwen" #4.

REVIEW: Haspiel & Waid's "The Fox" #2 Has "Wide Appeal"

Thu, May 7th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Readers looking for a new start with a fun new character and offbeat adventures need look no further than Dean Haspiel and Mark Waid's 'The Fox' #2."

REVIEW: Johns & Frank Fill "Batman: Earth One" Vol. 2 with Energy & Mystery

Wed, May 6th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Geoff Johns and Gary Frank's sequel "has plenty of action, adventure, suspense and surprise for readers of all levels of familiarity" with the hero.

REVIEW: Hickman & Ribic's "Secret Wars" #1 "Feels Epic"

Wed, May 6th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Despite some hiccups along the way, Jonathan Hickman and Esad Ribic make "Secret Wars" #1 feel "new and fresh, urgent and exciting."

A-Force #2

Fri, July 3rd, 2015 | Category: Review

While no one punches any sharks in "A-Force" #2, Maguerite Bennett, G. Willow Wilson and Jorge Molina give readers plenty to enjoy.

Omega Men #2

Wed, July 1st, 2015 | Category: Review

The shroud of mystery is lifted just a bit more in Tom King and Barnaby Bagenda's "Omega Men" #2.

Planet Hulk #2

Mon, June 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

Steve Rogers and Devil Dinosaur continue to wander Greenland and come across Doc Green in Sam Humphries and Marc Laming's "Planet Hulk" #2.

Green Lantern: The Lost Army #1

Mon, June 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

Five Green Lanterns are lost in space, trying to find the Green Lantern Corps, their power battery or any sense of direction in Cullen Bunn and Jesus Saiz's "Green Lantern: The Lost Army" #1.

S.H.I.E.L.D. #7

Mon, June 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

Quake and Mister Hyde meet up with Phil Coulson and his crew in Mark Waid and Greg Smallwood's "S.H.I.E.L.D." #7.

Ant-Man: Larger Than Life #1

Fri, June 26th, 2015 | Category: Review

Set "Years Ago," Will Corona Pilgrim and Andrea Di Vito's "Ant-Man: Larger Than Life" #1 peeks into the past of the Marvel Cinematic Universe's Ant-Man.

Aquaman #41

Fri, June 26th, 2015 | Category: Review

Cullen Bunn and Trevor McCarthy's "Aquaman" #41 changes up the status quo but resists providing any details in this first issue by its new creative team.

Justice League 3001 #1

Fri, June 26th, 2015 | Category: Review

Keith Giffen, J. M. DeMatteis and Howard Porter's "Justice League 3001" #1 starts the next season of the adventures of the not-quite Justice League.

Korvac Saga #1

Thu, June 25th, 2015 | Category: Review

Members of the creative crew and cast of characters from the recently-completed "Guardians 3000" find their way into Dan Abnett and Otto Schmidt's "Korvac Saga" #1.

X-O Manowar #37

Mon, June 22nd, 2015 | Category: Review

"Dead Hand" comes to a conclusion in Robert Venditti and Diego Bernard's "X-O Manowar" #37.

Robin: Son of Batman #1

Mon, June 22nd, 2015 | Category: Review

Young Damian Wayne sets off on a journey in Patrick Gleason's "Robin: Son of Batman" #1.

Old Man Logan #2

Fri, June 19th, 2015 | Category: Review

Brian Michael Bendis and Andrea Sorrentino's "Old Man Logan" #2 sends Logan over the wall, where he finds a batch of familiar faces and even more familiar trouble.

Martian Manhunter #1

Thu, June 18th, 2015 | Category: Review

Rob Williams and Eddy Barrows' "Martian Manhunter" #1 gives everyone's favorite green Martian another chance at an ongoing.

Ghostbusters: Get Real #1

Wed, June 17th, 2015 | Category: Review

Erik Burnham and Dan Schoening bring the Ghostbusters and the cartoon-based "real" Ghostbusters together in "Ghostbusters: Get Real" #1.

Thors #1

Tue, June 16th, 2015 | Category: Review

In "Thors" #1, Jason Aaron and Chris Sprouse give some personality to the Thor corps that patrol Battleworld in "Secret Wars."

Red Hood/Arsenal #1

Mon, June 15th, 2015 | Category: Review

Scott Lobdell and Denis Medri give readers one extended scene to cover nineteen pages in "Red Hood/Arsenal" #1.

Catwoman #41

Fri, June 12th, 2015 | Category: Review

Genevieve Valentine and David Messina's "Catwoman" #41 is filled with exposition to bring readers up to speed on Selina Kyle's activities and supporting cast.

Mrs. Deadpool and the Howling Commandos #1

Thu, June 11th, 2015 | Category: Review

"Mrs. Deadpool and the Howling Commandos" #1 is a complete misnomer of a title, as writer Gerry Duggan, artist Salva Espin and Deadpool himself demonstrate to readers in this "Secret Wars" spinoff.

Captain Marvel & the Carol Corps #1

Thu, June 11th, 2015 | Category: Review

Taking to the skies of Battleworld, Kelly Sue DeConnick, Kelly Thompson and David Lopez introduce Carol Danvers and the Banshee Squadron in "Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps" #1.

Barb Wire #1

Thu, June 11th, 2015 | Category: Review

Writer Chris Warner returns to his creation, giving readers a new "Barb Wire" #1 with Patrick Oliffe on art.

FirstPreviousNextLast