Doug Zawisza

Reviewer
Livonia, MI
Plattsburgh, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Doug Zawisza, also known as the Black Knight, was a Polish knight and nobleman. He served as a soldier and diplomat under the Polish king Wladyslaw II and Hungarian-Bohemian king Sigismund of Luxembourg. During his life, he was regarded as a model of knightly virtues and was renowned for winning multiple tournaments. His nickname is due to his black hair and his custom-made, black armor, which is kept at the Jasna Góra Monastery.

After his death, he was praised by the Polish historian Jan Dlugosz, the poet and Canon of Gniezno Adam Swinka, and by King Sigismund of Luxembourg. Zawisza became a folk hero in Poland, famed for reliability, and loyalty. The Polish Scouts oath reads partly: "...polegac na nim jak na Zawiszy" ('[you can] rely on [a boyscout] as on Zawisza'). A monument to Zawisza at Golubac fortress, Serbia, bears the inscription: "In Golubac, his life was taken by the Turks, the famous Polish knight, the symbol of courage and honor, Zawisza the Black. Glory to the hero!" Several Polish football clubs and other sports teams were named after him, including, Zawisza Bydgoszcz.

FIRST COMIC: "Justice League of America" #192

FAVORITE CHARACTER: Robotman/Cliff Steele

Articles By Doug Zawisza

Showing results 21-40 of 2506

REVIEW: Snyder, Jock & Hollingsworth Bring Their Very Best to "Wytches" #6

Fri, May 22nd, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Scott Snyder, Jock and Matt Hollingsworth's "Wytches" #6 is "exactly the high note a story should end on."

REVIEW: "Daredevil" #15.1 is "Another Fine Addition" to Matt Murdock's Adventures

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Mark Waid, Chris Samnee, Marc Guggenheim and Peter Krause's "Daredevil" #15.1 is "a fun offering for fans."

REVIEW: "Master of Kung Fu" #1 Delivers "a Smart Introduction"

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Haden Blackman and Dalibor Talajic's "Master of Kung Fu" #1 is "a briskly paced story filled with levels of detail and churning plot construction."

ADV. REVIEW: "A-Force" #1 is a Triumph

Tue, May 19th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

G. Willow Wilson, Marguerite Bennett, Jorge Molina and Craig Yeung's "A-Force" #1 "muscles its way into your heart through sheer quality."

ADV. REVIEW: Humphries & Laming Eagerly Invite Absurdity in "Planet Hulk" #1

Tue, May 19th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Every panel of every page in Sam Humphries and Marc Laming's 'Planet Hulk' #1 is a celebration of comics."

REVIEW: "Howard the Duck" #3 is Yet Another Feather in Marvel's Cap

Fri, May 15th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Fans of 'The Unbeatable Squirrel-Girl' and 'Rocket Raccoon' will feel right at home with Howard" in Chip Zdarsky & Joe Quinones' "Howard the Duck" #3.

REVIEW: Aaron & Dauterman Solve a Satisfying Mystery in "Thor" #8

Wed, May 13th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

An enigma since her introduction, Jason Aaron & Russell Dauterman keep readers guessing until the very end of the excellent "Thor" #8.

REVIEW: "Guardians Team-Up" #5 Has "Depth and Delight"

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Andy Lanning, Andy Schmidt and Gustavo Duarte's "Guardians Team-Up" #5 is "filled with exciting ideas and enjoyable characters."

REVIEW: Latour & Rodriguez's "Spider-Gwen" #4 Feels Fresh & Familiar

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jason Latour and Robbi Rodriguez create "the most emotionally gripping segment of this series to date" in "Spider-Gwen" #4.

REVIEW: Haspiel & Waid's "The Fox" #2 Has "Wide Appeal"

Thu, May 7th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Readers looking for a new start with a fun new character and offbeat adventures need look no further than Dean Haspiel and Mark Waid's 'The Fox' #2."

REVIEW: Johns & Frank Fill "Batman: Earth One" Vol. 2 with Energy & Mystery

Wed, May 6th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Geoff Johns and Gary Frank's sequel "has plenty of action, adventure, suspense and surprise for readers of all levels of familiarity" with the hero.

REVIEW: Hickman & Ribic's "Secret Wars" #1 "Feels Epic"

Wed, May 6th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Despite some hiccups along the way, Jonathan Hickman and Esad Ribic make "Secret Wars" #1 feel "new and fresh, urgent and exciting."

REVIEW: "Convergence: Shazam!" #1 "Brings a Sense of Wonder and Joy"

Mon, May 4th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jeff Parker and Evan Shaner's "Convergence: SHAZAM" #1 "is another gem in the 'Convergence' event."

REVIEW: "All-New Captain America" #6 is "a Solid, Satisfying Conclusion"

Mon, May 4th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Rick Remender and Stuart Immonen's "All-New Captain America" #6 is "certain to be remembered fondly."

REVIEW: "Fantastic Four" #645 is "a Beautiful Conclusion to a Remarkable Run"

Thu, April 30th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

James Robinson & Leonard Kirk's "Fantastic Four" #645 "provides a wonderfully organic, most satisfying conclusion for the adventures of Marvel's First Family."

REVIEW: "Quantum and Woody Must Die" #4 "Finds New Ways to Get a Laugh"

Wed, April 29th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

James Asmus and Steve Lieber's "Quantum and Woody Must Die" #4 "is just so wrong, but it does it so well."

REVIEW: "Convergence: Swamp Thing" #1 is "One of the Best Issues" of DC's Event

Mon, April 27th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Len Wein and Kelley Jones' "Convergence: Swamp Thing" #1 is "an adventure worth seeking out for fans of Swamp Thing, Len Wein or Kelley Jones."

REVIEW: Squirrel Girl Faces Galactus in Adorable "The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl" #4

Mon, April 27th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Ryan North and Erica Henderson's "The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl" #4 "is a fine example of what comics should be."

REVIEW: "Thrilling Adventure Hour: Beyond Belief" #1 is "a Dark, Rich Treat"

Fri, April 24th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Ben Acker, Ben Blacker & Phil Hester "have the flow of the comic book story nailed down tightly" in "Thrilling Adventure Hour: Beyond Belief" #1.

REVIEW: Parker & Truman's "Convergence: Hawkman" #1 Focuses on Adventure & Character

Fri, April 24th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jeff Parker and Tim Truman's "Convergence: Hawkman" #1 is "a rich, detailed visual experience."

Barb Wire #1

Thu, June 11th, 2015 | Category: Review

Writer Chris Warner returns to his creation, giving readers a new "Barb Wire" #1 with Patrick Oliffe on art.

Marvel Zombies #1

Thu, June 11th, 2015 | Category: Review

Simon Spurrier and Kev Walker's "Marvel Zombies" #1 introduces readers to the Shield and its tough-as-nails Section Commander, Elsa Bloodstone.

Ghost Racers #1

Tue, June 9th, 2015 | Category: Review

On the outskirts of Doomstadt, the capital of Battleworld, sits the Killiseum, where five creepy combatants compete in Felipe Smith and Juan Gedeon's "Ghost Racers" #1.

Green Lantern #41

Mon, June 8th, 2015 | Category: Review

Hal Jordan has a new weapon and a new purpose in Robert Venditti and Billy Tan's "Green Lantern" #41.

Armor Wars #1

Fri, June 5th, 2015 | Category: Review

"Armor Wars" #1 brings readers to the domain of Technopolis, where writer James Robinson and artist Marcio Takara introduce Baron Tony Stark.

Bat-Mite #1

Fri, June 5th, 2015 | Category: Review

Banished from his home dimension, Bat-Mite turns his attention to a whole new batch of subjects to "fix" in "Bat-Mite" #1, written by Dan Jurgens and drawn by Corin Howell.

Star Wars #6

Fri, June 5th, 2015 | Category: Review

In "Star Wars" #6, writer Jason Aaron sends artist John Cassaday off with a new character addition and a fight between Boba Fett and Luke Skywalker.

Years of Future Past #1

Fri, June 5th, 2015 | Category: Review

Marguerite Bennett and Mike Norton go back to the future to visit with Kate Pryde and company in "Years of Future Past" #1.

Bizarro #1

Thu, June 4th, 2015 | Category: Review

Bizarro go away in "Bizarro" #1, unwritten by Heath Corson and not drawn by Gustavo Duarte. You must not buy this book!

Gunsuits #1

Wed, June 3rd, 2015 | Category: Review

"Gunsuits" #1 brings plenty of otherworldly action and suspense in a story from Paul Tobin and P. J. Holden.

Justice League #41

Wed, June 3rd, 2015 | Category: Review

"The Darkseid War" gets rolling in Geoff Johns and Jason Fabok's forty-page "Justice League" #41.

Convergence: Booster Gold #2

Mon, June 1st, 2015 | Category: Review

Turning time back a bit, "Convergence: Booster Gold" #2 brings twenty-two pages of comic book story from writer Dan Jurgens and artist Alvaro Martinez.

All-New Hawkeye #3

Fri, May 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

"All-New Hawkeye" #3 puts Clint and Kate on a S.H.I.E.L.D helicarrier, where writer Jeff Lemire and artist Ramón Pérez reveal "it ain't all flying cars and super spies."

Secret Wars Journal #1

Fri, May 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

In "Secret Wars Journal" #1, Pru Shen, Matthew Rosenberg, Ramon Bachs and Luca Pizzari reimagine two tales from properties like Punisher and Moon Knight.

Where Monsters Dwell #1

Fri, May 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

Under the "Secret Wars" banner, writer Garth Ennis and artist Russ Braun bring the Phantom Eagle back to action in the pages of "Where Monsters Dwell" #1.

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #3

Fri, May 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa and Robert Hack's "Chilling Adventures of Sabrina" #3 takes readers to witness Sabrina Spellman's witching communion.

Inhumans: Attilan Rising #1

Thu, May 28th, 2015 | Category: Review

The Voice Unheard reaches out to Greenland to spread the message of resistance in Charles Soule and John Timms' "Inhumans: Attilan Rising" #1.

The Infinity Gauntlet #1

Thu, May 28th, 2015 | Category: Review

Dustin Weaver and Gerry Duggan deliver a high-octane cosmic adventure in "The Infinity Gauntlet" #1.

Jem and the Holograms #3

Mon, May 25th, 2015 | Category: Review

Kelly Thompson and Sophie Campbell's "Jem and the Holograms" #3 advances Pizzazz and the Misfits' continuing plots against Jem.

Convergence: New Teen Titans #2

Mon, May 25th, 2015 | Category: Review

The New Teen Titans from Marv Wolfman and George Perez's classic series face off against the Tangent Doom Patrol in "Convergence: New Teen Titans" #2, written by Wolfman and drawn by Nicola Scott.

FirstPreviousNextLast