Doug Zawisza

Reviewer
Livonia, MI
Plattsburgh, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Doug Zawisza, also known as the Black Knight, was a Polish knight and nobleman. He served as a soldier and diplomat under the Polish king Wladyslaw II and Hungarian-Bohemian king Sigismund of Luxembourg. During his life, he was regarded as a model of knightly virtues and was renowned for winning multiple tournaments. His nickname is due to his black hair and his custom-made, black armor, which is kept at the Jasna Góra Monastery.

After his death, he was praised by the Polish historian Jan Dlugosz, the poet and Canon of Gniezno Adam Swinka, and by King Sigismund of Luxembourg. Zawisza became a folk hero in Poland, famed for reliability, and loyalty. The Polish Scouts oath reads partly: "...polegac na nim jak na Zawiszy" ('[you can] rely on [a boyscout] as on Zawisza'). A monument to Zawisza at Golubac fortress, Serbia, bears the inscription: "In Golubac, his life was taken by the Turks, the famous Polish knight, the symbol of courage and honor, Zawisza the Black. Glory to the hero!" Several Polish football clubs and other sports teams were named after him, including, Zawisza Bydgoszcz.

FIRST COMIC: "Justice League of America" #192

FAVORITE CHARACTER: Robotman/Cliff Steele

Articles By Doug Zawisza

Showing results 41-60 of 2533

REVIEW: "Convergence: Shazam!" #1 "Brings a Sense of Wonder and Joy"

Mon, May 4th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jeff Parker and Evan Shaner's "Convergence: SHAZAM" #1 "is another gem in the 'Convergence' event."

REVIEW: "All-New Captain America" #6 is "a Solid, Satisfying Conclusion"

Mon, May 4th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Rick Remender and Stuart Immonen's "All-New Captain America" #6 is "certain to be remembered fondly."

REVIEW: "Fantastic Four" #645 is "a Beautiful Conclusion to a Remarkable Run"

Thu, April 30th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

James Robinson & Leonard Kirk's "Fantastic Four" #645 "provides a wonderfully organic, most satisfying conclusion for the adventures of Marvel's First Family."

REVIEW: "Quantum and Woody Must Die" #4 "Finds New Ways to Get a Laugh"

Wed, April 29th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

James Asmus and Steve Lieber's "Quantum and Woody Must Die" #4 "is just so wrong, but it does it so well."

REVIEW: "Convergence: Swamp Thing" #1 is "One of the Best Issues" of DC's Event

Mon, April 27th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Len Wein and Kelley Jones' "Convergence: Swamp Thing" #1 is "an adventure worth seeking out for fans of Swamp Thing, Len Wein or Kelley Jones."

REVIEW: Squirrel Girl Faces Galactus in Adorable "The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl" #4

Mon, April 27th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Ryan North and Erica Henderson's "The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl" #4 "is a fine example of what comics should be."

REVIEW: "Thrilling Adventure Hour: Beyond Belief" #1 is "a Dark, Rich Treat"

Fri, April 24th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Ben Acker, Ben Blacker & Phil Hester "have the flow of the comic book story nailed down tightly" in "Thrilling Adventure Hour: Beyond Belief" #1.

REVIEW: Parker & Truman's "Convergence: Hawkman" #1 Focuses on Adventure & Character

Fri, April 24th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jeff Parker and Tim Truman's "Convergence: Hawkman" #1 is "a rich, detailed visual experience."

REVIEW: Nicieza & Moline's "Convergence: Superboy" #1 Has "Gravitas and Spirit"

Mon, April 20th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Fabian Nicieza, Karl Moline and José Marzan Jr's "Convergence: Superboy" #1 is "a story filled with character, energy, action and... fun."

REVIEW: Albuquerque & Johnson's "Ei8ht" #3 "Fills Each Character with Passion"

Thu, April 16th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Ei8ht" #3 is "a sharp looking book that proves Rafael Albuquerque is as reliable a storyteller as he is an artist."

REVIEW: "American Vampire: Second Cycle" #7 Delivers a "Topnotch Horror-Filled Adventure"

Thu, April 16th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Scott Snyder and Rafael Albuquerque continue to find new ways to elevate the characters in their respective roles" in "American Vampire: Second Cycle" #7.

REVIEW: Lemire & Suayan's "Bloodshot Reborn" #1 "Punches Readers in the Eyes"

Thu, April 16th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Regardless of readers' familiarity with Bloodshot, Lemire, Suayan, Baron and Lanphear serve up a masterful introduction" in "Bloodshot Reborn" #1.

REVIEW: "Convergence: Speed Force" #1 Marks a Fun Return for Wally West

Mon, April 13th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Tony Bedard and Tom Grummett's "Convergence: Speed Force" #1 is "the most complete single issue of this event so far."

REVIEW: The Invisible Woman Shines in Waid & Sprouse's "S.H.I.E.L.D." #4

Fri, April 10th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Mark Waid and Chris Sprouse's "S.H.I.E.L.D." #4 is "an enjoyable adventure that has fun mashing up super powers and espionage."

REVIEW: Marvel Kills the Deadpool Universe in Chuckle-Worthy "Deadpool" #250

Thu, April 9th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Alongside some "less memorable" stories, Gerry Duggan, Brian Posehn and Mike Hawthorne "guide the Regeneratin' Degenerate through 'Deadpool' #250 with style."

REVIEW: "Ant-Man" #4 Gives C-List Villains Humanity & Purpose

Thu, April 9th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Nick Spencer and Ramon Rosanas' "Ant-Man" #4 is "a relatable adventure tale with some interesting personalities lining the journey. "

ADV REVIEW: Bennett & Sanchez Take Flight with Patterson's "Maximum Ride"

Mon, April 6th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Despite some hit-or-miss artwork, Marguerite Bennett and Alex Sanchez's "Max Ride: First Flight" #1 "does a nice job of hitting all the highlights."

REVIEW: Weisman & Larraz Make "Kanan - The Last Padawan" #1 a "Must-Read"

Wed, April 1st, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Greg Weisman and Pepe Larraz "lay out a nice welcome mat for new readers" in "Kanan - The Last Padawan" #1.

ADV REVIEW: Soule & McNiven Make "Uncanny Inhumans" #0 a "Strong First Offering"

Tue, March 31st, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"'Uncanny Inhumans' #0 gives readers a lot to like, from Soule's writing to McNiven's art to the apparent reassertion of Black Bolt as a leader of some magnitude."

ADV REVIEW: Remender, Opena & Larraz "Do a Grand Job" in "Avengers: Rage of Ultron"

Mon, March 30th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Rick Remender, Jerome Opena, and Pepe Larraz's "Rage of Ultron" is "a fine example of what original graphic novels can and should be."

Marvel Zombies #1

Thu, June 11th, 2015 | Category: Review

Simon Spurrier and Kev Walker's "Marvel Zombies" #1 introduces readers to the Shield and its tough-as-nails Section Commander, Elsa Bloodstone.

Ghost Racers #1

Tue, June 9th, 2015 | Category: Review

On the outskirts of Doomstadt, the capital of Battleworld, sits the Killiseum, where five creepy combatants compete in Felipe Smith and Juan Gedeon's "Ghost Racers" #1.

Green Lantern #41

Mon, June 8th, 2015 | Category: Review

Hal Jordan has a new weapon and a new purpose in Robert Venditti and Billy Tan's "Green Lantern" #41.

Armor Wars #1

Fri, June 5th, 2015 | Category: Review

"Armor Wars" #1 brings readers to the domain of Technopolis, where writer James Robinson and artist Marcio Takara introduce Baron Tony Stark.

Bat-Mite #1

Fri, June 5th, 2015 | Category: Review

Banished from his home dimension, Bat-Mite turns his attention to a whole new batch of subjects to "fix" in "Bat-Mite" #1, written by Dan Jurgens and drawn by Corin Howell.

Star Wars #6

Fri, June 5th, 2015 | Category: Review

In "Star Wars" #6, writer Jason Aaron sends artist John Cassaday off with a new character addition and a fight between Boba Fett and Luke Skywalker.

Years of Future Past #1

Fri, June 5th, 2015 | Category: Review

Marguerite Bennett and Mike Norton go back to the future to visit with Kate Pryde and company in "Years of Future Past" #1.

Bizarro #1

Thu, June 4th, 2015 | Category: Review

Bizarro go away in "Bizarro" #1, unwritten by Heath Corson and not drawn by Gustavo Duarte. You must not buy this book!

Gunsuits #1

Wed, June 3rd, 2015 | Category: Review

"Gunsuits" #1 brings plenty of otherworldly action and suspense in a story from Paul Tobin and P. J. Holden.

Justice League #41

Wed, June 3rd, 2015 | Category: Review

"The Darkseid War" gets rolling in Geoff Johns and Jason Fabok's forty-page "Justice League" #41.

Convergence: Booster Gold #2

Mon, June 1st, 2015 | Category: Review

Turning time back a bit, "Convergence: Booster Gold" #2 brings twenty-two pages of comic book story from writer Dan Jurgens and artist Alvaro Martinez.

All-New Hawkeye #3

Fri, May 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

"All-New Hawkeye" #3 puts Clint and Kate on a S.H.I.E.L.D helicarrier, where writer Jeff Lemire and artist Ramón Pérez reveal "it ain't all flying cars and super spies."

Secret Wars Journal #1

Fri, May 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

In "Secret Wars Journal" #1, Pru Shen, Matthew Rosenberg, Ramon Bachs and Luca Pizzari reimagine two tales from properties like Punisher and Moon Knight.

Where Monsters Dwell #1

Fri, May 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

Under the "Secret Wars" banner, writer Garth Ennis and artist Russ Braun bring the Phantom Eagle back to action in the pages of "Where Monsters Dwell" #1.

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #3

Fri, May 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa and Robert Hack's "Chilling Adventures of Sabrina" #3 takes readers to witness Sabrina Spellman's witching communion.

Inhumans: Attilan Rising #1

Thu, May 28th, 2015 | Category: Review

The Voice Unheard reaches out to Greenland to spread the message of resistance in Charles Soule and John Timms' "Inhumans: Attilan Rising" #1.

The Infinity Gauntlet #1

Thu, May 28th, 2015 | Category: Review

Dustin Weaver and Gerry Duggan deliver a high-octane cosmic adventure in "The Infinity Gauntlet" #1.

Jem and the Holograms #3

Mon, May 25th, 2015 | Category: Review

Kelly Thompson and Sophie Campbell's "Jem and the Holograms" #3 advances Pizzazz and the Misfits' continuing plots against Jem.

Convergence: New Teen Titans #2

Mon, May 25th, 2015 | Category: Review

The New Teen Titans from Marv Wolfman and George Perez's classic series face off against the Tangent Doom Patrol in "Convergence: New Teen Titans" #2, written by Wolfman and drawn by Nicola Scott.

Convergence: Justice League of America #2

Mon, May 25th, 2015 | Category: Review

The much-maligned Justice League Detroit is given the chance to win readers' hearts and save their city in Fabian Nicieza and ChrisCross' "Convergence: Justice League of America" #2.

FirstPreviousNextLast