Doug Zawisza

Livonia, MI
Plattsburgh, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Doug Zawisza, also known as the Black Knight, was a Polish knight and nobleman. He served as a soldier and diplomat under the Polish king Wladyslaw II and Hungarian-Bohemian king Sigismund of Luxembourg. During his life, he was regarded as a model of knightly virtues and was renowned for winning multiple tournaments. His nickname is due to his black hair and his custom-made, black armor, which is kept at the Jasna Góra Monastery.

After his death, he was praised by the Polish historian Jan Dlugosz, the poet and Canon of Gniezno Adam Swinka, and by King Sigismund of Luxembourg. Zawisza became a folk hero in Poland, famed for reliability, and loyalty. The Polish Scouts oath reads partly: "...polegac na nim jak na Zawiszy" ('[you can] rely on [a boyscout] as on Zawisza'). A monument to Zawisza at Golubac fortress, Serbia, bears the inscription: "In Golubac, his life was taken by the Turks, the famous Polish knight, the symbol of courage and honor, Zawisza the Black. Glory to the hero!" Several Polish football clubs and other sports teams were named after him, including, Zawisza Bydgoszcz.

FIRST COMIC: "Justice League of America" #192

FAVORITE CHARACTER: Robotman/Cliff Steele

Articles By Doug Zawisza

Showing results 41-60 of 2620

REVIEW: Aaron & Sprouse Make "Thors" #1 "a Must-Read"

Tue, June 16th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"For those who have truly enjoyed... 'Thor: God of Thunder' and 'Thor,' Jason Aaron and Chris Sprouse's 'Thors' #1 is a comic you cannot miss."

REVIEW: "Captain Marvel & the Carol Corps" #1 Introduces a World Full of Adventure

Thu, June 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"With the characters effectively established in 'Captain Marvel & the Carol Corps" #1, DeConnick, Thompson and Lopez are ready to continue the adventure."

REVIEW: Spurrier & Walker Capture Elsa Bloodstone's Character in "Marvel Zombies" #1

Thu, June 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Si Spurrier and Kev Walker's "Marvel Zombies" #1 is "a solid introduction to a strong, enjoyable character."

REVIEW: Smith & Gedeon Pack Motorized Mayhem into "Ghost Racers" #1

Tue, June 9th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Felipe Smith and Juan Gedeon's "Ghost Racers" #1 "offers readers a powerful opportunity to have their gears stripped and their minds blown."

REVIEW: Bennett & Norton's "Years of Future Past" #1 Packs Promise & a Strong Premise

Fri, June 5th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Marguerite Bennett and Mike Norton's "Years of Future Past" #1 is "filled with uneasy predicaments, interpersonal challenges and a cliffhanger."

5-STAR REVIEW: Corson & Duarte's "Bizarro" #1 Has Humor & Heart

Thu, June 4th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Heath Corson and Gustavo Duarte's "Bizarro" #1 "will certainly hit the spot for readers jonesing for something different and fun."

REVIEW: Johns & Fabok's "Justice League" #41 Feels Like the Cornerstone of a New Era

Wed, June 3rd, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Geoff Johns and Jason Fabok's "Justice League" #41 "is a grand new start, with revelations and jawdroppers aplenty."

REVIEW: "Inhumans: Attilan Rising" #1 Offers Opportunity & Intrigue

Thu, May 28th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Charles Soule, John Timms and Roberto Poggi's "Inhumans: Attilan Rising" #1 "puts a new spin on the Inhumans, Battleworld and Lord Doom's inner circle."

5-STAR REVIEW: Weaver & Duggan Deliver Lively Adventure in "The Infinity Gauntlet" #1

Thu, May 28th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"There's a lot to like in Dustin Weaver and Gerry Duggan's 'The Infinity Gauntlet' #1, and a lot more to look forward to in future issues."

REVIEW: "Convergence: Justice League of America" #2 Spotlights the Team's Potential

Mon, May 25th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Fabian Nicieza and ChrisCross's "Convergence: Justice League of America" #2 proves "the Justice League Detroit has story characters worth investigating."

REVIEW: Snyder, Jock & Hollingsworth Bring Their Very Best to "Wytches" #6

Fri, May 22nd, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Scott Snyder, Jock and Matt Hollingsworth's "Wytches" #6 is "exactly the high note a story should end on."

REVIEW: "Daredevil" #15.1 is "Another Fine Addition" to Matt Murdock's Adventures

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Mark Waid, Chris Samnee, Marc Guggenheim and Peter Krause's "Daredevil" #15.1 is "a fun offering for fans."

REVIEW: "Master of Kung Fu" #1 Delivers "a Smart Introduction"

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Haden Blackman and Dalibor Talajic's "Master of Kung Fu" #1 is "a briskly paced story filled with levels of detail and churning plot construction."

ADV. REVIEW: "A-Force" #1 is a Triumph

Tue, May 19th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

G. Willow Wilson, Marguerite Bennett, Jorge Molina and Craig Yeung's "A-Force" #1 "muscles its way into your heart through sheer quality."

ADV. REVIEW: Humphries & Laming Eagerly Invite Absurdity in "Planet Hulk" #1

Tue, May 19th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Every panel of every page in Sam Humphries and Marc Laming's 'Planet Hulk' #1 is a celebration of comics."

REVIEW: "Howard the Duck" #3 is Yet Another Feather in Marvel's Cap

Fri, May 15th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Fans of 'The Unbeatable Squirrel-Girl' and 'Rocket Raccoon' will feel right at home with Howard" in Chip Zdarsky & Joe Quinones' "Howard the Duck" #3.

REVIEW: Aaron & Dauterman Solve a Satisfying Mystery in "Thor" #8

Wed, May 13th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

An enigma since her introduction, Jason Aaron & Russell Dauterman keep readers guessing until the very end of the excellent "Thor" #8.

REVIEW: "Guardians Team-Up" #5 Has "Depth and Delight"

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Andy Lanning, Andy Schmidt and Gustavo Duarte's "Guardians Team-Up" #5 is "filled with exciting ideas and enjoyable characters."

REVIEW: Latour & Rodriguez's "Spider-Gwen" #4 Feels Fresh & Familiar

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jason Latour and Robbi Rodriguez create "the most emotionally gripping segment of this series to date" in "Spider-Gwen" #4.

REVIEW: Haspiel & Waid's "The Fox" #2 Has "Wide Appeal"

Thu, May 7th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Readers looking for a new start with a fun new character and offbeat adventures need look no further than Dean Haspiel and Mark Waid's 'The Fox' #2."

Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps #3

Fri, August 28th, 2015 | Category: Review

In Kelly Sue DeConnick, Kelly Thompson and David Lopez's "Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps" #3, Banshee Squadron makes a break to discover what lies beyond.

S.H.I.E.L.D. #9

Fri, August 28th, 2015 | Category: Review

Kicking off the celebration of S.H.I.E.L.D.'s fiftieth anniversary, Mark Waid and Lee Ferguson's "S.H.I.E.L.D." #9 delivers a tale in the ongoing adventures of Phil Coulson's crew, but also expands the S.H.I.E.L.D. legend.

The Flash #43

Fri, August 28th, 2015 | Category: Review

Robert Venditti, Van Jensen and Brett Booth fill "The Flash" #43 with a bit of setup, a sliver of standoff and some Flash foes striking out.

Batman: Arkham Knight - Genesis #1

Thu, August 27th, 2015 | Category: Review

Peter J. Tomasi and Alisson Borges' "Batman: Arkham Knight - Genesis" #1 pulls back the cowl and reveals the identity of the Arkham Knight.

Ant-Man: Last Days #1

Thu, August 27th, 2015 | Category: Review

With a few solid surprises, Nick Spencer and Ramon Rosanas chronicle Scott Lang's final hours before "Secret Wars" in "Ant Man: Last Days" #1.

Wonder Woman #43

Mon, August 24th, 2015 | Category: Review

Ian Churchill hops into the artist's chair to join writer Meredith Finch on the continued adventures of Diana and Donna in "Wonder Woman" #43.

Green Lantern: The Lost Army #3

Mon, August 24th, 2015 | Category: Review

In "Green Lantern: The Lost Army" #3, writer Cullen Bunn and artists Jesus Saiz and Cliff Richards send John Stewart's crew to meet Relic, only it's not Relic as the Green Lanterns know him.

Guardians Team-Up #10

Fri, August 21st, 2015 | Category: Review

Macho Gomez has wronged both Rocket Raccoon and Deadpool. That can mean only one thing: TEAM-UP! Tim Seeley and Mike Norton bring the hurt in "Guardians Team-Up" #10.

Weirdworld #3

Thu, August 20th, 2015 | Category: Review

Warbow makes good on his promise to Arkon in Jason Aaron and Mike Del Mundo's "Weirdworld" #3 as the barbarian receives a new map.

Star Wars #8

Thu, August 20th, 2015 | Category: Review

Stuart Immonen climbs into the co-pilot's chair and hits hyperdrive as he joins writer Jason Aaron for "Star Wars" #8, which is both a continuation of the tale and a magnificent new launching point.

King #1

Thu, August 20th, 2015 | Category: Review

Joshua Hale Fialkov and Bernard Chang's "King" #1 introduces a post-apocalyptic world where King must brave Crossfreaks, karate robot bears, basketball-uniform-wearing, co-worker eating pterodactyl oddities and more.

Star-Lord & Kitty Pryde #2

Mon, August 17th, 2015 | Category: Review

Star-Lord and Kitty Pryde take on the New Mutdroids in Sam Humphries and Alti Firmansyah's "Star-Lord and Kitty Pryde" #2.

Justice League United #12

Mon, August 17th, 2015 | Category: Review

Jeff Parker and Travel Foreman's "Justice League United" #12 ends the re-imagined Justice League United's first case as Etrigan, Equinox, Mera and Poison Ivy fight a pile of grossness in the middle of Lake Erie.

Inhumans: Attilan Rising #4

Fri, August 14th, 2015 | Category: Review

Medusa and her lackeys press Black Bolt for information, but the proprietor of the Quiet Room says he ain't talkin' in Charles Soule and John Timms' "Inhumans: Attilan Rising" #4.

Plutona #1

Fri, August 14th, 2015 | Category: Review

Five kids make a startling discovery in Jeff Lemire and Emi Lenox's "Plutona" #1.

Howard the Duck #5

Thu, August 13th, 2015 | Category: Review

It's the end times as Talos the Tamed wields the Abundant Glove in Chip Zdarsky and Joe Quinones' "Howard the Duck" #5.

Planet Hulk #4

Wed, August 12th, 2015 | Category: Review

Steve Rogers, Devil Dinosaur and Doc Green cross into the Mud Kingdom in search of the Red King to negotiate freedom for Bucky in Sam Humphries and Marc Laming's "Planet Hulk" #4.

Adam.3 #1

Wed, August 12th, 2015 | Category: Review

Writer and artist Scott Kolins introduces readers to a whole new wild world with talking animals and on-demand technology in "Adam.3" #1.

The Shadow Volume 2 #1

Mon, August 10th, 2015 | Category: Review

Cullen Bunn and Giovanni Timpano pick up the Shadow's crusade against the Society of United Magicians in "The Shadow Volume 2" #1.

Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows #3

Fri, August 7th, 2015 | Category: Review

Dan Slott and Adam Kubert's "Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows" #3 continues the tale of the Parker family hiding under the prying watch of the Regent.