Doug Zawisza

Reviewer
Livonia, MI
Plattsburgh, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Doug Zawisza, also known as the Black Knight, was a Polish knight and nobleman. He served as a soldier and diplomat under the Polish king Wladyslaw II and Hungarian-Bohemian king Sigismund of Luxembourg. During his life, he was regarded as a model of knightly virtues and was renowned for winning multiple tournaments. His nickname is due to his black hair and his custom-made, black armor, which is kept at the Jasna Góra Monastery.

After his death, he was praised by the Polish historian Jan Dlugosz, the poet and Canon of Gniezno Adam Swinka, and by King Sigismund of Luxembourg. Zawisza became a folk hero in Poland, famed for reliability, and loyalty. The Polish Scouts oath reads partly: "...polegac na nim jak na Zawiszy" ('[you can] rely on [a boyscout] as on Zawisza'). A monument to Zawisza at Golubac fortress, Serbia, bears the inscription: "In Golubac, his life was taken by the Turks, the famous Polish knight, the symbol of courage and honor, Zawisza the Black. Glory to the hero!" Several Polish football clubs and other sports teams were named after him, including, Zawisza Bydgoszcz.

FIRST COMIC: "Justice League of America" #192

FAVORITE CHARACTER: Robotman/Cliff Steele

Articles By Doug Zawisza

Showing results 41-60 of 2565

REVIEW: Aaron & Dauterman Solve a Satisfying Mystery in "Thor" #8

Wed, May 13th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

An enigma since her introduction, Jason Aaron & Russell Dauterman keep readers guessing until the very end of the excellent "Thor" #8.

REVIEW: "Guardians Team-Up" #5 Has "Depth and Delight"

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Andy Lanning, Andy Schmidt and Gustavo Duarte's "Guardians Team-Up" #5 is "filled with exciting ideas and enjoyable characters."

REVIEW: Latour & Rodriguez's "Spider-Gwen" #4 Feels Fresh & Familiar

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jason Latour and Robbi Rodriguez create "the most emotionally gripping segment of this series to date" in "Spider-Gwen" #4.

REVIEW: Haspiel & Waid's "The Fox" #2 Has "Wide Appeal"

Thu, May 7th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Readers looking for a new start with a fun new character and offbeat adventures need look no further than Dean Haspiel and Mark Waid's 'The Fox' #2."

REVIEW: Johns & Frank Fill "Batman: Earth One" Vol. 2 with Energy & Mystery

Wed, May 6th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Geoff Johns and Gary Frank's sequel "has plenty of action, adventure, suspense and surprise for readers of all levels of familiarity" with the hero.

REVIEW: Hickman & Ribic's "Secret Wars" #1 "Feels Epic"

Wed, May 6th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Despite some hiccups along the way, Jonathan Hickman and Esad Ribic make "Secret Wars" #1 feel "new and fresh, urgent and exciting."

REVIEW: "Convergence: Shazam!" #1 "Brings a Sense of Wonder and Joy"

Mon, May 4th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jeff Parker and Evan Shaner's "Convergence: SHAZAM" #1 "is another gem in the 'Convergence' event."

REVIEW: "All-New Captain America" #6 is "a Solid, Satisfying Conclusion"

Mon, May 4th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Rick Remender and Stuart Immonen's "All-New Captain America" #6 is "certain to be remembered fondly."

REVIEW: "Fantastic Four" #645 is "a Beautiful Conclusion to a Remarkable Run"

Thu, April 30th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

James Robinson & Leonard Kirk's "Fantastic Four" #645 "provides a wonderfully organic, most satisfying conclusion for the adventures of Marvel's First Family."

REVIEW: "Quantum and Woody Must Die" #4 "Finds New Ways to Get a Laugh"

Wed, April 29th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

James Asmus and Steve Lieber's "Quantum and Woody Must Die" #4 "is just so wrong, but it does it so well."

REVIEW: "Convergence: Swamp Thing" #1 is "One of the Best Issues" of DC's Event

Mon, April 27th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Len Wein and Kelley Jones' "Convergence: Swamp Thing" #1 is "an adventure worth seeking out for fans of Swamp Thing, Len Wein or Kelley Jones."

REVIEW: Squirrel Girl Faces Galactus in Adorable "The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl" #4

Mon, April 27th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Ryan North and Erica Henderson's "The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl" #4 "is a fine example of what comics should be."

REVIEW: "Thrilling Adventure Hour: Beyond Belief" #1 is "a Dark, Rich Treat"

Fri, April 24th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Ben Acker, Ben Blacker & Phil Hester "have the flow of the comic book story nailed down tightly" in "Thrilling Adventure Hour: Beyond Belief" #1.

REVIEW: Parker & Truman's "Convergence: Hawkman" #1 Focuses on Adventure & Character

Fri, April 24th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jeff Parker and Tim Truman's "Convergence: Hawkman" #1 is "a rich, detailed visual experience."

REVIEW: Nicieza & Moline's "Convergence: Superboy" #1 Has "Gravitas and Spirit"

Mon, April 20th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Fabian Nicieza, Karl Moline and José Marzan Jr's "Convergence: Superboy" #1 is "a story filled with character, energy, action and... fun."

REVIEW: Albuquerque & Johnson's "Ei8ht" #3 "Fills Each Character with Passion"

Thu, April 16th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Ei8ht" #3 is "a sharp looking book that proves Rafael Albuquerque is as reliable a storyteller as he is an artist."

REVIEW: "American Vampire: Second Cycle" #7 Delivers a "Topnotch Horror-Filled Adventure"

Thu, April 16th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Scott Snyder and Rafael Albuquerque continue to find new ways to elevate the characters in their respective roles" in "American Vampire: Second Cycle" #7.

REVIEW: Lemire & Suayan's "Bloodshot Reborn" #1 "Punches Readers in the Eyes"

Thu, April 16th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Regardless of readers' familiarity with Bloodshot, Lemire, Suayan, Baron and Lanphear serve up a masterful introduction" in "Bloodshot Reborn" #1.

REVIEW: "Convergence: Speed Force" #1 Marks a Fun Return for Wally West

Mon, April 13th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Tony Bedard and Tom Grummett's "Convergence: Speed Force" #1 is "the most complete single issue of this event so far."

REVIEW: The Invisible Woman Shines in Waid & Sprouse's "S.H.I.E.L.D." #4

Fri, April 10th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Mark Waid and Chris Sprouse's "S.H.I.E.L.D." #4 is "an enjoyable adventure that has fun mashing up super powers and espionage."

Batman #42

Mon, July 13th, 2015 | Category: Review

"Superheavy" continues in "Batman" #42, as writer Scott Snyder and artist Greg Capullo continue to divulge how Gotham continues to change the new Batman.

Star Trek/Green Lantern: The Spectrum War #1

Wed, July 8th, 2015 | Category: Review

"Star Trek/Green Lantern" #1 blends two grand space sagas together and steps back to see what writer Mike Johnson and artist Angel Hernandez can come up with.

American Vampire: Second Cycle #8

Mon, July 6th, 2015 | Category: Review

Trouble comes 'round in Scott Snyder and Rafael Albuquerque's "American Vampire: Second Cycle" #8.

Princess Leia #5

Mon, July 6th, 2015 | Category: Review

Mark Waid and Terry Dodson's "Princess Leia" #5 brings Leia's quest to find the refugees of Alderaan to a close.

Future Imperfect #2

Mon, July 6th, 2015 | Category: Review

"Future Imperfect" #2 pits Maestro against the Thing and, with Peter David writing it and Greg Land drawing it, it's got to be worth checking out, right? Right!

Guardians Team-Up #7

Fri, July 3rd, 2015 | Category: Review

Drax and Ant-Man team up to stop an intergalactic arms deal in Nick Giovanetti, Paul Scheer and Shawn Crystal's "Guardians Team-Up" #7.

A-Force #2

Fri, July 3rd, 2015 | Category: Review

While no one punches any sharks in "A-Force" #2, Maguerite Bennett, G. Willow Wilson and Jorge Molina give readers plenty to enjoy.

Omega Men #2

Wed, July 1st, 2015 | Category: Review

The shroud of mystery is lifted just a bit more in Tom King and Barnaby Bagenda's "Omega Men" #2.

Planet Hulk #2

Mon, June 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

Steve Rogers and Devil Dinosaur continue to wander Greenland and come across Doc Green in Sam Humphries and Marc Laming's "Planet Hulk" #2.

Green Lantern: The Lost Army #1

Mon, June 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

Five Green Lanterns are lost in space, trying to find the Green Lantern Corps, their power battery or any sense of direction in Cullen Bunn and Jesus Saiz's "Green Lantern: The Lost Army" #1.

S.H.I.E.L.D. #7

Mon, June 29th, 2015 | Category: Review

Quake and Mister Hyde meet up with Phil Coulson and his crew in Mark Waid and Greg Smallwood's "S.H.I.E.L.D." #7.

Ant-Man: Larger Than Life #1

Fri, June 26th, 2015 | Category: Review

Set "Years Ago," Will Corona Pilgrim and Andrea Di Vito's "Ant-Man: Larger Than Life" #1 peeks into the past of the Marvel Cinematic Universe's Ant-Man.

Aquaman #41

Fri, June 26th, 2015 | Category: Review

Cullen Bunn and Trevor McCarthy's "Aquaman" #41 changes up the status quo but resists providing any details in this first issue by its new creative team.

Justice League 3001 #1

Fri, June 26th, 2015 | Category: Review

Keith Giffen, J. M. DeMatteis and Howard Porter's "Justice League 3001" #1 starts the next season of the adventures of the not-quite Justice League.

Korvac Saga #1

Thu, June 25th, 2015 | Category: Review

Members of the creative crew and cast of characters from the recently-completed "Guardians 3000" find their way into Dan Abnett and Otto Schmidt's "Korvac Saga" #1.

X-O Manowar #37

Mon, June 22nd, 2015 | Category: Review

"Dead Hand" comes to a conclusion in Robert Venditti and Diego Bernard's "X-O Manowar" #37.

Robin: Son of Batman #1

Mon, June 22nd, 2015 | Category: Review

Young Damian Wayne sets off on a journey in Patrick Gleason's "Robin: Son of Batman" #1.

Old Man Logan #2

Fri, June 19th, 2015 | Category: Review

Brian Michael Bendis and Andrea Sorrentino's "Old Man Logan" #2 sends Logan over the wall, where he finds a batch of familiar faces and even more familiar trouble.

Martian Manhunter #1

Thu, June 18th, 2015 | Category: Review

Rob Williams and Eddy Barrows' "Martian Manhunter" #1 gives everyone's favorite green Martian another chance at an ongoing.

Ghostbusters: Get Real #1

Wed, June 17th, 2015 | Category: Review

Erik Burnham and Dan Schoening bring the Ghostbusters and the cartoon-based "real" Ghostbusters together in "Ghostbusters: Get Real" #1.

FirstPreviousNextLast