Review Search: Ben Oliver

comics per page
FirstPreviousNextLast


Showing results 1-25 of 25

The Multiversity: The Just #1

Grant Morrison and Ben Oliver's "The Multiversity: The Just" #1 takes the concept of legacy heroes to its natural conclusion, as ennui-filled hipsters can't see what's coming even as it's about to destroy them.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Grant Morrison
Artists:
Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
October 22nd, 2014

Batman/Superman #4

"Batman/Superman" #4 brings the first storyline to a conclusion, and Greg Pak, Jae Lee and Ben Oliver's story looks great but has a slightly predictable conclusion.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Greg Pak
Artists:
Jae Lee, Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
October 17th, 2013

Justice League #23.2

Marguerite Bennett and Ben Oliver provide the story of a bounty hunter patient comic book fans will actually dig in "Justice League #23.1: Lobo."

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Marguerite Bennett
Artists:
Ben Oliver, Cliff Richards
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
September 11th, 2013

Batman/Superman #1

This isn't the first time Batman and Superman have met for the first time, but Greg Pak and Jae Lee make it one of the more exciting, insightful and stylish ones by getting into each character's head in "Batman Superman" #1.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Greg Pak
Artists:
Jae Lee, Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Jim Johnson
June 26th, 2013

Action Comics

In a flashback to the days when Superman had only just arrived in Metropolis, Grant Morrison asks, "What would happen to someone who stole Superman's cape?"

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Grant Morrison
Artists:
Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
James Hunt
September 7th, 2012

Higher Earth #1

The basic thrust behind "Higher Earth" is familiar but in doing so it allows Sam Humphries and Francesco Biagini to jump right into the story.

Publisher:
Boom! Studios
Writer:
Sam Humphries
Artists:
Francesco Biagini, Manuel Bracchi
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
May 7th, 2012

Batwing #6

"Batwing" is losing some air-speed as the initial storyline begins to drag.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Judd Winick
Artists:
Ben Oliver, Brian Reber
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
February 2nd, 2012

Batwing #3

"Batwing" isn't bad, but it's losing a bit of steam.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Judd Winick
Artists:
Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 3rd, 2011

Batwing #2

Batwing continues to fight under the symbol of the Bat, even though he has a big gaping wound in his chest.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Judd Winick
Artists:
Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
October 6th, 2011

Batwing #1

The DC relaunch all but guaranteed a new plethora of Bat-books. Week One saw 3 released, including “Batwing," which spins out of the stories from the much-ballyhooed “Batman, Inc."

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Judd WInick
Artists:
Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
September 9th, 2011

Iron Age #1

The time travel element might make some things questionable, but Christos Gage and Rob Williams deliver an entertaining classic Avengers style tale.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Christos N. Gage, Rob Williams
Artists:
Lee Weeks, Tom Palmer, Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
June 30th, 2011

Flashpoint: Hal Jordan #1

It's a brisk read, but Ben Oliver's art sure is pretty.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Adam Schlagman
Artists:
Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
June 30th, 2011

Alpha Flight #0.1

"Look. You know I've had my own problems with the department. But I've chosen to change the system from within."

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Greg Pak, Fred Van Lente
Artists:
Ben Oliver, Dan Green
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
May 19th, 2011

Osborn #5

Osborn becomes a villain who you might actually fear again.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Kelly Sue DeConnick
Artists:
Emma Rios, Becky Cloonan
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
May 1st, 2011

Hulk #29

More monsters! More Hulks! More M.O.D.O.K.!

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jeff Parker
Artists:
Gabriel Hardman, Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
February 3rd, 2011

Hulk #28

“I’ve trashed my military career, I’m constantly attacked by my supposed allies, my family won’t talk to me, and the only place I can be human is on a secret base with the one man I can’t stand.”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jeff Parker
Artists:
Gabriel Hardman, Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
December 31st, 2010

Osborn #1

Osborn finds himself at the center of a manipulative scheme, while Norah Winters decides to follow up on his story.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Kelley Sue DeConnick, Warren Ellis
Artists:
Emma Rios, Jamie McKelvie
Reviewer:
James Hunt
November 19th, 2010

World War Hulks #1

As anthology comics go, "World War Hulks" is all right so long as you aren't expecting too much.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jeff Parker, Harrison Wilcox, Scott Reed, Paul Tobin
Artists:
Zach Howard, Ben Oliver, Aluir Amancio, Ramon Rosanas, Ryan Stegman, Ig Guara, Mark Irwin, Terry Austin, Michael Baninski
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
April 8th, 2010

Wolverine Origins #45

Wolverine takes an unorthodox approach to the Romulus problem, as Way and Braithwaite deliver some solid superhero action.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Daniel Way
Artists:
Dougie Braithwaite, Bill Reinhold, Mike Manley
Reviewer:
Timothy Callahan
March 20th, 2010

Ultimatum: X-Men Requiem #1

"They didn't ask to be different or to be heroes" is the epitaph etched into the memorial built upon the grounds of Charles Xavier's School for Gifted Children in Westchester, New York. I didn't ask for this book to be good. Looks

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Aron E. Coleite
Artists:
Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
August 4th, 2009

X-Men: Manifest Destiny #5

The final part of the “Manifest Destiny” tie-in miniseries, with a lead story featuring Iceman and Mystique.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Mike Carey, Frank Tieri, Kieron Gillen
Artists:
Michael Ryan, Victor Olazaba Ben Oliver, Sara Pichelli
Reviewer:
James Hunt
January 19th, 2009

Young X-Men #7

"Young X-Men" begins to move into its new direction, but the overall pace still feels like everyone involved is swimming through molasses.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Marc Guggenheim
Artists:
Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
October 17th, 2008

Uncanny X-Men #499

A so-so ending to a story that, while good, feels like Brubaker was stalling to reach next month's milestone issue.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Ed Brubaker
Artists:
Mike Choi, Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
June 27th, 2008

Wolverine: Dangerous Game #1

Yet another "Wolverine" one-shot fails to justify the high price point, this time with a lead by "Gutsville"’s Simon Spurrier and a backup by Rick Remender.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Simon Spurrier, Rick Remender
Artists:
Ben Oliver, Jerome Opena
Reviewer:
James Hunt
June 10th, 2008

Thunderbolts: Reason in Madness #1

Christos Gage delivers another entertaining one-shot to fill gaps in the “Thunderbolts” schedule, this time focussing on two classic Marvel villains �" the Green Goblin and Mac “Venom/Scorpion” Gargan.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Christos Gage
Artists:
Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
James Hunt
May 13th, 2008
FirstPreviousNextLast