Review Search: 2010-01-13

comics per page
FirstPreviousNextLast


Showing results 1-25 of 25

Invincible Iron Man #22

The book might be moving a little slower now, but it's still very interesting, with great character pieces.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Matt Fraction
Artists:
Salvador Larroca
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
January 19th, 2010

The Marvels Project #5

Fans of Brubaker and Epting's "Captain America" will definitely want to read this title if they aren't already.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Ed Brubaker
Artists:
Steve Epting
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
January 19th, 2010

Daytripper #2

With its second issue, the idea behind "Daytripper" is starting to become a bit clearer. Perhaps.

Publisher:
Vertigo
Writer:
Fabio Moon, Gabriel Ba
Artists:
Fabio Moon, Gabriel Ba
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
January 19th, 2010

Batman #695

Tony Daniel is putting a lot of characters into the mix, but nothing gets lost in the shuffle.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Tony Daniel
Artists:
Tony Daniel, Sandu Florea, Norm Rapmund
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
January 19th, 2010

X-Men Forever #15

The “evil” Storm flees to Wakanda to visit her once-and-future love, T’Challa.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Chris Claremont
Artists:
Tom Grummett, Al Vey, Gary Martin, Terry Pallot
Reviewer:
James Hunt
January 19th, 2010

The Muppet Show Comic Book #1

The Muppets hit the road in the first issue of their ongoing series and it’s a success for them and Roger Langridge.

Publisher:
Boom! Studios
Writer:
Roger Langridge
Artists:
Roger Langridge
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
January 19th, 2010

Secret Six #17

The Secret Six squaring off against the Suicide Squad during Blackest Night seems so natural, it's almost creepy.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Gail Simone, John Ostrander
Artists:
J. Calafiore
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
January 18th, 2010

Adventure Comics #6

Even as an oversized issue, "Adventure Comics" #6 feels a little rushed.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns
Artists:
Francis Manapul
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
January 18th, 2010

Weekly World News #1

The jokes aren’t funny, the story is nonexistent, and the main character is a stereotype, but the art is pretty good.

Publisher:
IDW
Writer:
Chris Ryall
Artists:
Alan Robinson
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
January 18th, 2010

S.W.O.R.D. #3

The best issue of the series yet as Beast works to stop Gyrich’s plan to deport all of the aliens on Earth.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Kieron Gillen
Artists:
Steven Sanders, Craig Yeung
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
January 18th, 2010

Marvel Super Hero Squad #1

The calculated cute caricatures of your favorite Marvel icons have made their way to the floppies. Your kids'll probably want it.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Todd Dezago
Artists:
Leonel Castellani, Marcelo Dichiara
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 18th, 2010

The Unwritten #9

A prison break! Tragedy! Sadness! Another good installment of Vertigo's "Harry Potter" pastiche.

Publisher:
Vertigo
Writer:
Mike Carey
Artists:
Peter Gross
Reviewer:
Timothy Callahan
January 18th, 2010

Dark X-Men #3

Cleanly drawn, clearly told, and it's not so much about the Dark X-Men as it is about Nate Grey and the Dark Avengers.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Paul Cornell
Artists:
Leonard Kirk
Reviewer:
Timothy Callahan
January 17th, 2010

Aliens Vs. Predator: Three World War #1

After making it to the silver screen, the matchup between the Aliens and the Predators seems lackluster as a comic book concept, but this series looks to add a new dynamic to that rivalry.

Publisher:
Dark Horse Comics
Writer:
Randy Stradley
Artists:
Rick Leonardi, Mark Pennington
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 17th, 2010

Absolution #6

A strong opening concerning superheroes and killing only leads to a disappointing end to this mini-series.

Publisher:
Avatar Press
Writer:
Christos Gage
Artists:
Roberto Viacava
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
January 17th, 2010

R.E.B.E.L.S. #12

Borges is an inadequate replacement for either Clarke or St. Aubin, but the story has some interesting moments.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Tony Bedard
Artists:
Geraldo Borges, Scott Hanna
Reviewer:
Timothy Callahan
January 17th, 2010

The Power of SHAZAM! #48

Cover dated eleven years after "The Power of SHAZAM!" #47, and priced a mere 49¢ more than "The Power of SHAZAM!" #47, "Power of SHAZAM!" comes back among the rest of the Black Lantern titles rising from the ranks of the can

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Eric Wallace
Artists:
Don Kramer, Michael Babinski
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 14th, 2010

Conan: The Weight of the Crown #1

A disappointing effort that focus too much on laborious narration and not enough on Conan killing people.

Publisher:
Dark Horse Comics
Writer:
Darick Robertson
Artists:
Darick Robertson
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
January 14th, 2010

Nation X #2

The second anthology issue that explores life on Utopia is a mixed bag aimed at longtime X-fans rather than the more casual reader.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
CB Cebulski, Jim McCann, John Barber, Tim Fish, Becky Cloonan
Artists:
Mike Choi, David Lopez, Alvardo Lopez, Tim Fish, Becky Cloonan
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
January 14th, 2010

Action Comics #885

"Action Comics" continues to be a 100% Superman-free read for all those comic book fans with Superman allergies. All the same, the title does live up to its name with this issue, in both the main story and the backup.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Greg Rucka, Eric Trautmann, James Robinson
Artists:
Pere Pérez, Cafu
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 14th, 2010

Titans #21

"Titans" proceeds apace, marking time between one big event and the next. In this issue, J.T. Krul gives some more insight into the slow motion splintering of one of DC's oldest teams.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
J.T. Krul
Artists:
Angel Unzueta, Chris Batista, Wayne Faucher
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 13th, 2010

Lola: A Ghost Story

"Lola: A Ghost Story" is a story about a young man who can see ghosts and other supernatural beings.

Publisher:
Oni Press
Writer:
J. Torres
Artists:
Elbert Or
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 13th, 2010

Amazing Spider-Man #617

Dateless and working on New Year's Eve, Pete is victim to the old Parker luck again. Add in a new robo-Rhino and Pete's luck changes for the worse.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Joe Kelly
Artists:
Max Fiumara, Javier Pulido
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 13th, 2010

Black Panther #12

Superhero shenanigans and a whole lot more in this jam-packed issue by Maberry and Conrad.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jonathan Maberry
Artists:
Will Conrad
Reviewer:
Timothy Callahan
January 12th, 2010

X-Men Origins Cyclops #1

This Cyclops origin turns out to be a well-told little story, with some surprisingly nice art.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Stuart Moore
Artists:
Jesse Delperdang, Andy Lanning
Reviewer:
Timothy Callahan
January 12th, 2010
FirstPreviousNextLast