Review Search: 2011-01-26

comics per page
FirstPreviousNextLast


Showing results 1-27 of 27

Uncanny X-Force #4

X-Force is a much stronger title than you'd think it'd have any right to be.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Rick Remender
Artists:
Jerome Opena
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
January 31st, 2011

X-Men #7

The X-Men head to New York for a little superheroic outreach.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Victor Gischler
Artists:
Chris Bachalo, Tim Townsend
Reviewer:
James Hunt
January 31st, 2011

Ultimate Comics Avengers 3 #6

It’s vampires versus the Avengers... for an issue! Nice pacing job there, Millar!

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Mark Millar
Artists:
Steve Dillon, Andy Lanning, Scott Hanna
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
January 31st, 2011

Secret Avengers #9

Steve Rogers vs. John Steele in the battle of the super-soldiers!

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Ed Brubaker
Artists:
Mike Deodato, Will Conrad
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
January 30th, 2011

Avengers #9

Hey, Tony, about that Illuminati group of yours? Secret’s out!

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Brian Michael Bendis
Artists:
John Romita Jr., Klaus Janson, Tom Palmer, Scott Hanna
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
January 30th, 2011

Twilight Guardian #1

“Wonder if I should take the binoculars. Some of the officers around here have seen me as Twilight Guardian. If they talked to me in my civilian ID, would they recognize me?”

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Troy Hickman
Artists:
Sid Kotian
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 30th, 2011

Green Arrow #8

“Protect the forest? It grew up out of nothing. It’s an electronic dead zone – no instruments or scanning or even satellite imagery is working. And it’s growing. If you ask me, it’s not the forest that needs protecting.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
J. T. Krul
Artists:
Diogenes Neves, Oclair Albert, Vicente Cifuentes
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 29th, 2011

New York Five #1

Wood and Kelly return to the world of The New York Four – with one new addition.

Publisher:
Vertigo
Writer:
Brian Wood
Artists:
Ryan Kelly
Reviewer:
James Hunt
January 29th, 2011

Proof: Endangered #2

It’s like a gauntlet of cryptids to be run and you get the very real feeling someone might just die.

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Alex Grecian
Artists:
Riley Rossmo
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
January 29th, 2011

The Boys: Highland Laddie #6

“The Boys” isn’t producing good spin-off minis, which makes it harder when one good, extended, scene is hidden in these six issues.

Publisher:
Dynamite Entertainment
Writer:
Garth Ennis
Artists:
John McCrea, Keith Burns
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
January 29th, 2011

Chaos War: X-Men #2

“I am Proudstar, son of the people you call the Apache. My soul is bound to the most honored, most fierce of our spirits – the Thunderbird!”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Louise Simonson, Chris Claremont
Artists:
Doug Braithwaite
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 29th, 2011

Wonder Woman #606

“You’re right there, Princess. I owe you an equal share in this kill. After all, your carelessness led directly to her demise.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
J. Michael Straczynski, Phil Hester
Artists:
Eduardo Pansica, Jay Leisten, Marlo Alquiza, Wayne Faucher, Julio Ferreira
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 27th, 2011

Magneto #1

“You know me well enough to expect me to use my mutant gifts to save you and your timid and ungrateful friends and neighbors. . .”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Howard Chaykin
Artists:
Howard Chaykin
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 27th, 2011

Action Comics #897

“Lex, this is all I’m going to tell you – soon, unless you make the wrong choice, you will crack the biggest joke of all time.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Cornell
Artists:
Pete Woods
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 27th, 2011

Incredible Hulk #621

“If I could, I would help you today in all the ways you ask, but know this Bruce Banner. When I grasped that power, I was guided by the wisdom beyond all our ken. And if you weren’t healed then perhaps that is as it should be.”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Greg Pak, Josh Williamson
Artists:
Paul Pelletier, Danny Miki, Sana Takeda
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 27th, 2011

Thunderbolts #152

"Thunderbolts" versus behemoths from Monster Island? Oh, yeah.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jeff Parker
Artists:
Kev Walker
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
January 27th, 2011

Astonishing Thor #2

The only astonishing thing here, unfortunately, is the dullness.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Robert Rodi
Artists:
Mike Choi
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
January 27th, 2011

Uncanny X-Men #532

The X-Men are still sick, Dazzler is still luminous, Sebastian Shaw is still dangerous, and Greg Land is still photo-referencing.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Matt Fraction, Kieron Gillen
Artists:
Greg Land, Jay Leisten
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
January 27th, 2011

Zatanna #9

Can you say, "Esirprus pukcab erutaef," kids? I thought you could.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Dini, Adam Beechen
Artists:
Cliff Chiang, Jamal Igle, Robin Riggs
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
January 27th, 2011

Fables #101

This side-step after the climactic "Fables" #100 is so satisfying you'll be dying to find out what happens next with these minor characters.

Publisher:
Vertigo
Writer:
Bill Willingham
Artists:
Eric Shanower, Andrew Pepoy, Richard Friend
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
January 26th, 2011

Chaos War #5

“Sequence and distance are compressing to infinite/eternal meaninglessness around a single point which even the non-physicists in the room must realize is the bazillion foot tall glowing bearded guy in the skirt.”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Greg Pak, Fred Van Lente
Artists:
Khoi Pham, Tom Palmer, Bob McLeod
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 26th, 2011

Shazam! #1

The actual telling of the "Shazam!" special isn't bad, but the it's the basic idea behind it that seems off-center.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Eric Wallace
Artists:
Cliff Richards
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
January 26th, 2011

Age of X Alpha #1

Welcome to the Age of X, where mutants are holed up in Fortress X struggling to survive attacks from humans.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Mike Carey
Artists:
Mirco Pierfederici, Gabriel Hernandez Walta, Carlo Barberi, Walden Wong, Paco Diaz, Paul Davidson
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
January 26th, 2011

Star Wars: Darth Vader and the Lost Command #1

Vader is a bad ass, always. That’s the rule, but I kind of wish they’d break it.

Publisher:
Dark Horse Comics
Writer:
Haden Blackman
Artists:
Rick Leonardi, Daniel Green
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
January 26th, 2011

American Vampire #11

Pearl stresses over the love of her husband and Hattie can’t find her old friend, this week on a very special issue of “American Vampire.”

Publisher:
Vertigo
Writer:
Scott Snyder
Artists:
Mateus Santalouco
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
January 26th, 2011

Detective Comics #873

“What I see is a common criminal. A dirty old man who sells pieces of dusty junk to rich people with too much time on their hands.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Scott Snyder
Artists:
Jock
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
January 26th, 2011

Fantastic Four #587

Hickman and Epting's "Three" is a story worthy of the attention it’s getting, but for all the right reasons.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jonathan Hickman
Artists:
Steve Epting, Rick Maygar, Mike Perkins
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
January 25th, 2011
FirstPreviousNextLast