Review Search: DC Comics

comics per page
FirstPreviousNextLast


Showing results 1466-1515 of 2313

Batgirl #16

“Apparently I murdered one of my fellow students. News to me, but I digress. . . I know for a fact that a bunch of weirdos dressed like the Grim Reaper are behind it.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Bryan Q. Miller
Artists:
Dustin Nguyen, Derek Fridolfs
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
December 11th, 2010

T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents #2

Meet the new Lightning and see the terrible cost that he pays to fill that role.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Nick Spencer
Artists:
CAFU, Bit, ChrisCross
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
December 10th, 2010

Detective Comics Annual #12

There are some flashes of interest in the new "Detective Comics Annual," but overall it's not quite worth its price.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
David Hine, Brad Desnoyer, Kyle Higgins
Artists:
Agustin Padilla, Lee Ferguson, Trevor McCarthy, Ryan Winn
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
December 9th, 2010

Justice League: Generation Lost #15

“It’s a world of devastation where every corner of the planet is at war. Meta-humans battling each other, who battle humanity, who battle each other. He leads to this. I’m going to kill Max Lord.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Judd Winick
Artists:
Joe Bennett, Jack Jadson, Ruy José
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
December 9th, 2010

R.E.B.E.L.S. #23

"R.E.B.E.L.S." quietly continues to do its own thing, but it's hard to keep from wishing it would focus more on its own cast of characters.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Tony Bedard
Artists:
Claude St. Aubin, Scott Hanna
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
December 9th, 2010

Superboy #2

There are some rough edges on "Superboy" right now, but nothing that can't be fixed.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Jeff Lemire
Artists:
Pier Gallo
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
December 8th, 2010

Freedom Fighters #4

“My name is Joan Dale. My codename is Miss America. I had to assume command of the Freedom Fighters when Uncle Sam’s body was destroyed.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Jimmy Palmiotti, Justin Gray
Artists:
Travis Moore, Trevor Scott
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
December 5th, 2010

Doom Patrol #17

“Calmly, Mr. Steele, calmly. I will have no hand in your president’s assassination.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Keith Giffen
Artists:
Matthew Clark, Ron Randall, John Livesay
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
December 5th, 2010

Adventure Comics #521

It's not a bad setup, but at the same time it's hard to keep from feeling like remarkably little happens here.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Levitz, Jeff Lemire
Artists:
Geraldo Borges, Marlo Alquiza, Mahmud Asrar, John Dell
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
December 3rd, 2010

JSA All-Stars #13

After a fun first half, "JSA All-Stars" and its spotlight on Cyclone grinds to a conclusion.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Matthew Sturges
Artists:
Howard Porter, Art Thibert
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
December 3rd, 2010

Brightest Day #15

You know from the start what the conclusion of this issue will be, and yet it's still somewhat entertaining.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns, Peter J. Tomasi
Artists:
Patrick Gleason, Scott Clark, David Beaty, Mick Gray, Tom Nguyen, Mark Irwin, Rebecca Buchman, Keith Champagne, Sandra Hope
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
December 2nd, 2010

Teen Titans #89

"Teen Titans" is on the road to fun again. How'd that happen?

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
J.T. Krul
Artists:
Nicola Scott, Doug Hazlewood
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 27th, 2010

Green Arrow #6

“Okay, Ollie. Enough with the pity party. Nix knows I’m distracted. And she isn’t going to pass up an advantage like that.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
J.T. Krul
Artists:
Diogenes Neves, Vicente Cifuentes, Guillermo Ortego
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 27th, 2010

Batwoman

This is a new reader-friendly introduction to Batwoman, as J.H. Williams prepares a new series to continue her adventures.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
J.H. Williams III, W. Hayden Blackman
Artists:
J.H. Williams III, Amy Reeder, Richard Friend
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
November 25th, 2010

Batman Beyond #6

“Hey, there’s no substitute for knowing you’ve saved a life. Or millions. And just because you couldn’t figure out how to balance friends, family and choices doesn’t mean I can’t. I’ll make it work.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Adam Beechen
Artists:
Ryan Benjamin, John Stanisci
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 25th, 2010

Batman and Robin #17

"What are we missing?" is an apt but unfortunate rallying cry for this book, in more ways than one.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Cornell
Artists:
Scott McDaniel, Rob Hunter
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 24th, 2010

Justice League: Generation Lost #14

A sequel (or is that prequel?) to issue #6, as Captain Atom takes another trip into the future where Max Lord succeeded.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Judd Winick
Artists:
Aaron Lopresti, Matt Ryan
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 24th, 2010

Action Comics #895

"Action Comics" continues to bring a lot of fun, even without that much action.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Cornell, Nick Spencer
Artists:
Pete Woods, R.B. Silva, Dym
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 24th, 2010

Detective Comics #871

How does a kid become a Killer Croc? And what does a crooked cop have to do with it? Dick and Commissioner Gordon look to find out.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Scott Snyder
Artists:
Jock, Francesco Francavilla
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
November 24th, 2010

Zatanna #7

Zatanna is in LA to help with the opening of a magic museum. Things go wrong. Of course.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Adam Beechen
Artists:
Chad Hardin, Wayne Faucher
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
November 22nd, 2010

Green Lantern #59

Hope you like exposition, because "Green Lantern" is serving up a whole lot of it with a side of talking.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns
Artists:
Doug Mahnke, Christian Alamy, Keith Champagne
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 21st, 2010

Nightmaster: Monsters of Rock #1

“I have to save them, it’s going to be very dangerous, and there’s no place for you in this. Go home, Eddie.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Adam Beechen
Artists:
Kieron Dwyer
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 19th, 2010

Justice League of America #51

“There is always hope. That team in there – they are the Justice League of America. They’re new to it, sure, but they aren’t new to this level of adversity.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
James Robinson
Artists:
Mark Bagley, Rob Hunter, Norm Rapmund
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 19th, 2010

Superman #705

Straczynski tries to make a point about every-day heroes, but it gets lost in the melodrama.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
J. Michael Straczynski
Artists:
Wellington Diaz, Eddy Barrows, J.P. Mayer, Eber Ferreira
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 18th, 2010

Batman Incorporated #1

The first issue of Morrison's "Batman Incorporated" is a blast, with an amazing art team in Paquette and Lacombe.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Grant Morrison
Artists:
Yanick Paquette, Michel Lacombe
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
November 18th, 2010

Green Lantern Corps #54

“Thaal Sinestro’s pride would never allow him to ignore what I have done. It makes no difference if he loves you, hates you, or feels total indifference.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Tony Bedard
Artists:
Tyler Kirkham, Batt
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 17th, 2010

Batman: The Return #1

Batman is back and he’s ready to take on the world. Literally. Pity the world.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Grant Morrison
Artists:
David Finch, Batt, Ryan Winn
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
November 17th, 2010

Batman #704

Not quite as strong as Tony Daniel's previous "Batman" issues, but by the end it's showing promise.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Tony Daniel
Artists:
Tony Daniel
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 17th, 2010

The Flash #6

"The Flash" finally crosses the finish line for its first story, but despite the delays it's a strong showing.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns
Artists:
Francis Manapul
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 17th, 2010

Brightest Day #14

“I might not be meant to save the universe or the Earth, but I can make life better for others and for me. Why is that wrong? Why?!”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns, Peter J. Tomasi
Artists:
Ivan Reis, Joe Prado
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 17th, 2010

Booster Gold #38

“Sorry Skeets. I guess there’s a little bit of General Glory in all of us.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Keith Giffen, J. M. DeMatteis
Artists:
Chris Batista, Rich Perrotta
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 14th, 2010

The All New Batman: Brave & the Bold #1

“Other than Robin and Alfred, Superman is my best friend. Some people are surprised by that.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Sholly Fisch
Artists:
Rick Burchett, Dan Davis
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 12th, 2010

Knight and Squire #2

The Knight and Squire take on the Morris Men and show their skills by... er, showing up?

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Cornell
Artists:
Jimmy Broxton
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
November 11th, 2010

Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #4

“I thought we could amp up our little group with Sodam’s ringslingin’ if he was still alive, but all we got out of it is that Sodam’s possibly gone rogue.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Peter J. Tomasi
Artists:
Fernando Pasarin, Cam Smith
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 11th, 2010

The Return of Bruce Wayne #6

We knew he would return, but how he’d return is what matters. Can Batman outthink Darkseid and the Omega Sanction?

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Grant Morrison
Artists:
Lee Garbett, Pere Pérez, Alejandro Sicat, Walden Wong
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
November 10th, 2010

Batgirl #15

Welcome to "Batgirl," Dustin Nguyen and Derek Fridolfs. Hope you survive the experience!

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Bryan Q. Miller
Artists:
Dustin Nguyen, Derek Fridolfs
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 10th, 2010

T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents #1

A mission goes wrong in almost every way possible and T.H.U.N.D.E.R. is totally screwed. Is the first issue the last as well?

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Nick Spencer
Artists:
CAFU, Bit
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
November 10th, 2010

Birds of Prey #6

After a month off, "Birds of Prey" finally wraps up its initial storyline, and it feels good to finally move on.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Gail Simone
Artists:
Alvin Lee, Adriana Melo, Jack Purcell, J.P. Mayer
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 10th, 2010

Secret Six #27

“Fish belly white, just how I like ‘em. I could gnaw on them legs forever.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Gail Simone
Artists:
J. Calafiore
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 8th, 2010

Doom Patrol #16

“Great. Alternate reality Nazis. I hate alternate reality Nazis even more than I hate pelicans.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Brian Keene, Keith Giffen
Artists:
Keith Giffen, Al Milgrom
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 4th, 2010

JSA All-Stars #12

"JSA All-Stars" shifts to a focus on the underused Cyclone, and it's about time.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Matthew Sturges
Artists:
Howard Porter, Art Thibert
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 3rd, 2010

Superboy #1

“I’m - - I’m okay. . . just tired. And don’t call me Conner in public, genius.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Jeff Lemire
Artists:
Pier Gallo
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 3rd, 2010

Batman/Catwoman: Follow the Money #1

Batman. Catwoman. Howard Chaykin. If that isn’t enough, I don’t know what else I can say.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Howard Chaykin
Artists:
Howard Chaykin
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
November 3rd, 2010

Brightest Day #13

Did someone say... hawk?

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns, Peter J. Tomasi
Artists:
Ardian Syaf, Ivan Reis, Joe Prado, Vicente Cifuentes
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
November 3rd, 2010

Batman and Robin #16

The wrap-up for Hurt, the Joker, Professor Pyg as Bruce Wayne has returned.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Grant Morrison
Artists:
Cameron Stewart, Chris Burnham, Frazer Irving
Reviewer:
Timothy Callahan
November 2nd, 2010

Zatanna #6

“Ralph and Sue. They’re not dead anymore. Good for them.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Dini
Artists:
Jesus Saiz
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 1st, 2010

Justice League of America/The 99 #1

“We hope to inspire people everywhere to acts of heroism and courage.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Stuart Moore, Fabian Nicieza
Artists:
Tom Derenick, Drew Geraci
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
November 1st, 2010

Billy Batson and the Magic of Shazam! #21

“Consider it a gift from the wizard! He probably figured you’d try something like that, and cast a spell to prevent you from doing it to me!”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Art Baltazar, Franco Aureliani
Artists:
Mike Norton
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
October 29th, 2010

Action Comics #894

Lex Luthor meets Death of the Endless, perhaps not in the traditional manner.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Cornell
Artists:
Pete Woods
Reviewer:
James Hunt
October 28th, 2010

Green Arrow #5

“Wasn’t aiming there. It’s like she turned into the shot at the last second.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
J. T. Krul
Artists:
Diogenes Neves, Vicente Cifuentes
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
October 28th, 2010
FirstPreviousNextLast