"LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Officially Announced

Tue, February 2nd, 2016 at 6:16am PST | Updated: February 2nd, 2016 at 6:25am

Video Games Film
Kevin Melrose, Editor

force awakens lego social

Following overnight leaks, Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment and Lucasfilm have officially announced "LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens."

Arriving June 28, the game will not only feature playable content that bridges the gaps between "Return of the Jedi" and "The Force Awakens," but also introduces new gameplay mechanics: Multi-Builds, in which players can use “available LEGO bricks to open up new paths, then break them apart and re-build them again to open up another"; and Blaster Battles, in which they can use their surroundings as cover.

Gamers can play as such characters as Rey, Finn, Poe Dameron, Han Solo, Chewbacca, BB-8, Kylo Ren, General Hux and Captain Phasma in such movie locales as Jakku and Starkiller Base.

In addition, enemies will also be able to build, "allowing stormtroopers to support each other with reinforcements, air strikes, and heavy artillery, adding another layer of danger to the game."

Developed by TT Games, "LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens" will be available on PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 3 (along with exclusive DLC), PlayStation Vita, Xbox One, Xbox 360, Wii U, the Nintendo 3DS family of systems, and Windows PC.

force awakens lego poster

Discuss this story in CBR's Games forum.  |  No Comments

TAGS:  lego star wars the force awakens, warner bros interactive, lego, lucasfilm

CBR News