Doug Zawisza

Reviewer
Livonia, MI
Plattsburgh, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Doug Zawisza, also known as the Black Knight, was a Polish knight and nobleman. He served as a soldier and diplomat under the Polish king Wladyslaw II and Hungarian-Bohemian king Sigismund of Luxembourg. During his life, he was regarded as a model of knightly virtues and was renowned for winning multiple tournaments. His nickname is due to his black hair and his custom-made, black armor, which is kept at the Jasna Góra Monastery.

After his death, he was praised by the Polish historian Jan Dlugosz, the poet and Canon of Gniezno Adam Swinka, and by King Sigismund of Luxembourg. Zawisza became a folk hero in Poland, famed for reliability, and loyalty. The Polish Scouts oath reads partly: "...polegac na nim jak na Zawiszy" ('[you can] rely on [a boyscout] as on Zawisza'). A monument to Zawisza at Golubac fortress, Serbia, bears the inscription: "In Golubac, his life was taken by the Turks, the famous Polish knight, the symbol of courage and honor, Zawisza the Black. Glory to the hero!" Several Polish football clubs and other sports teams were named after him, including, Zawisza Bydgoszcz.

FIRST COMIC: "Justice League of America" #192

FAVORITE CHARACTER: Robotman/Cliff Steele

Articles By Doug Zawisza

Showing results 1-20 of 2445

REVIEW: Snyder, Jock & Hollingsworth Bring Their Very Best to "Wytches" #6

Fri, May 22nd, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Scott Snyder, Jock and Matt Hollingsworth's "Wytches" #6 is "exactly the high note a story should end on."

REVIEW: "Daredevil" #15.1 is "Another Fine Addition" to Matt Murdock's Adventures

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Mark Waid, Chris Samnee, Marc Guggenheim and Peter Krause's "Daredevil" #15.1 is "a fun offering for fans."

REVIEW: "Master of Kung Fu" #1 Delivers "a Smart Introduction"

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Haden Blackman and Dalibor Talajic's "Master of Kung Fu" #1 is "a briskly paced story filled with levels of detail and churning plot construction."

ADV. REVIEW: "A-Force" #1 is a Triumph

Tue, May 19th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

G. Willow Wilson, Marguerite Bennett, Jorge Molina and Craig Yeung's "A-Force" #1 "muscles its way into your heart through sheer quality."

ADV. REVIEW: Humphries & Laming Eagerly Invite Absurdity in "Planet Hulk" #1

Tue, May 19th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Every panel of every page in Sam Humphries and Marc Laming's 'Planet Hulk' #1 is a celebration of comics."

REVIEW: "Howard the Duck" #3 is Yet Another Feather in Marvel's Cap

Fri, May 15th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Fans of 'The Unbeatable Squirrel-Girl' and 'Rocket Raccoon' will feel right at home with Howard" in Chip Zdarsky & Joe Quinones' "Howard the Duck" #3.

REVIEW: Aaron & Dauterman Solve a Satisfying Mystery in "Thor" #8

Wed, May 13th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

An enigma since her introduction, Jason Aaron & Russell Dauterman keep readers guessing until the very end of the excellent "Thor" #8.

REVIEW: "Guardians Team-Up" #5 Has "Depth and Delight"

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Andy Lanning, Andy Schmidt and Gustavo Duarte's "Guardians Team-Up" #5 is "filled with exciting ideas and enjoyable characters."

REVIEW: Latour & Rodriguez's "Spider-Gwen" #4 Feels Fresh & Familiar

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jason Latour and Robbi Rodriguez create "the most emotionally gripping segment of this series to date" in "Spider-Gwen" #4.

REVIEW: Haspiel & Waid's "The Fox" #2 Has "Wide Appeal"

Thu, May 7th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

"Readers looking for a new start with a fun new character and offbeat adventures need look no further than Dean Haspiel and Mark Waid's 'The Fox' #2."

REVIEW: Johns & Frank Fill "Batman: Earth One" Vol. 2 with Energy & Mystery

Wed, May 6th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Geoff Johns and Gary Frank's sequel "has plenty of action, adventure, suspense and surprise for readers of all levels of familiarity" with the hero.

REVIEW: Hickman & Ribic's "Secret Wars" #1 "Feels Epic"

Wed, May 6th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Despite some hiccups along the way, Jonathan Hickman and Esad Ribic make "Secret Wars" #1 feel "new and fresh, urgent and exciting."

REVIEW: "Convergence: Shazam!" #1 "Brings a Sense of Wonder and Joy"

Mon, May 4th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jeff Parker and Evan Shaner's "Convergence: SHAZAM" #1 "is another gem in the 'Convergence' event."

REVIEW: "All-New Captain America" #6 is "a Solid, Satisfying Conclusion"

Mon, May 4th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Rick Remender and Stuart Immonen's "All-New Captain America" #6 is "certain to be remembered fondly."

REVIEW: "Fantastic Four" #645 is "a Beautiful Conclusion to a Remarkable Run"

Thu, April 30th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

James Robinson & Leonard Kirk's "Fantastic Four" #645 "provides a wonderfully organic, most satisfying conclusion for the adventures of Marvel's First Family."

REVIEW: "Quantum and Woody Must Die" #4 "Finds New Ways to Get a Laugh"

Wed, April 29th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

James Asmus and Steve Lieber's "Quantum and Woody Must Die" #4 "is just so wrong, but it does it so well."

REVIEW: "Convergence: Swamp Thing" #1 is "One of the Best Issues" of DC's Event

Mon, April 27th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Len Wein and Kelley Jones' "Convergence: Swamp Thing" #1 is "an adventure worth seeking out for fans of Swamp Thing, Len Wein or Kelley Jones."

REVIEW: Squirrel Girl Faces Galactus in Adorable "The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl" #4

Mon, April 27th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Ryan North and Erica Henderson's "The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl" #4 "is a fine example of what comics should be."

REVIEW: "Thrilling Adventure Hour: Beyond Belief" #1 is "a Dark, Rich Treat"

Fri, April 24th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Ben Acker, Ben Blacker & Phil Hester "have the flow of the comic book story nailed down tightly" in "Thrilling Adventure Hour: Beyond Belief" #1.

REVIEW: Parker & Truman's "Convergence: Hawkman" #1 Focuses on Adventure & Character

Fri, April 24th, 2015 | Category: Comic Books

Jeff Parker and Tim Truman's "Convergence: Hawkman" #1 is "a rich, detailed visual experience."

Wytches #6

Fri, May 22nd, 2015 | Category: Review

From the first page of "Wytches" #6, Scott Snyder, Jock, Matt Hollingsworth and Clem Robins let readers know "this is not an ending."

Convergence #7

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Review

Thanks largely to Aaron Lopresti's art, "Convergence" #7 is the best of the bunch to date, but writers Jeff King and Scott Lobdell still haven't found the epic scale event sagas deserve.

Daredevil #15.1

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Review

Mark Waid and Chris Samnee welcome Marc Guggenheim and Peter Krause to "Daredevil" #15.1, giving readers a peek into "Man Without Fear: The Autobiography of Matt Murdock."

Master of Kung Fu #1

Thu, May 21st, 2015 | Category: Review

Haden Blackman and Dalibor Talajic bring readers to Battleworld's domain of K'un Lun as the Thirteen Chambers gather to determine their future ruler.

Planet Hulk #1

Tue, May 19th, 2015 | Category: Review

In Sam Humphries and Marc Laming's "Planet Hulk" #1, the brave of heart will find the Captain and the Devil waging war against all in Battleworld's Greenland.

Convergence: Aquaman #2

Mon, May 18th, 2015 | Category: Review

Aquaman faces off against Deathblow in Tony Bedard and Cliff Richards' "Convergence: Aquaman" #2.

Convergence: Supergirl: Matrix #2

Mon, May 18th, 2015 | Category: Review

Keith Giffen and Timothy Green II kick things back to the 1990s with "Convergence: Supergirl: Matrix" #2 as the Matrix Supergirl and Lady Quark seek to avoid their fate.

Uncanny Avengers #4

Fri, May 15th, 2015 | Category: Review

Rick Remender, Gerry Duggan and Daniel Acuña's "Uncanny Avengers" #4 delivers the fourth installment of "Counter-Evolutionary."

Darth Vader #5

Fri, May 15th, 2015 | Category: Review

"Darth Vader" #5 takes the growing cast of this series to the Outer Rim, where writer Kieron Gillen and artist Salvador Larroca introduce a new threat to Vader.

Howard the Duck #3

Fri, May 15th, 2015 | Category: Review

Writer Chip Zdarsky and artist Joe Quinones pit their foul-tempered fowl against a gang of geriatric thieves.

Thor #8

Wed, May 13th, 2015 | Category: Review

As writer Jason Aaron and artist Russell Dauterman reveal Thor's secret identity, the goddess of Thunder has to defend herself from the Destroyer. Luckily, Odinson brought some allies.

Convergence: Nightwing/Oracle #2

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Review

Gail Simone and Jan Duursema conclude the struggle between Hawkman, Hawkwoman, Nightwing and Oracle in "Convergence: Nightwing/Oracle" #2.

Guardians Team-Up #5

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Review

One-time "Guardians of the Galaxy" co-writer Andy Lanning returns to craft a team-up between Rocket Raccoon and the Pet Avengers in "Guardians Team-Up" #5, as drawn by Gustavo Duarte.

Spider-Gwen #4

Mon, May 11th, 2015 | Category: Review

Jason Latour and Robbi Rodriguez's "Spider-Gwen" #4 puts Spider-Woman in some tight jams against a pair of graffiti artists and across a dining room table from May Parker.

The Fox #2

Thu, May 7th, 2015 | Category: Review

Ghost Fox makes his debut in Dark Circle's "The Fox" #2 by Dean Haspiel and Mark Waid.

Secret Wars #1

Wed, May 6th, 2015 | Category: Review

"The End Times" kicks off Marvel's latest event in Jonathan Hickman and Esad Ribic's "Secret Wars" #1, as the latest Incursion brings the Marvel Universe and the Ultimate Universe crashing together.

Batman: Earth One, Vol. #2

Wed, May 6th, 2015 | Category: Review

Geoff Johns and Gary Frank continue the exploration of their alternate universe version of the Dark Knight in "Batman: Earth One" Volume 2, with Harvey Dent, Waylon Jones and the Riddler all appearing.

Convergence: Blue Beetle #1

Mon, May 4th, 2015 | Category: Review

The big three of the Charlton heroes -- Blue Beetle, Captain Atom and the Question -- defend Hub City in Scott Lobdell and Yishan Li's "Convergence: Blue Beetle" #1.

Convergence: Shazam! #1

Mon, May 4th, 2015 | Category: Review

The Big Red Cheese returns in all his thunderous glory in the pages of Jeff Parker, Evan Shaner and Jordie Bellaire's "Convergence: Shazam!" #1.

All-New Captain America #6

Mon, May 4th, 2015 | Category: Review

"All-New Captain America" #6 brings the first arc of Sam Wilson wielding the shield to a close as Rick Remender and Stuart Immonen deliver a fight to the finish between Cap and Baron Blood.

FirstPreviousNextLast