Tony Salvaggio

Columnist

Articles By Tony Salvaggio

Showing results 1-20 of 44

Calling Manga Island - 4/02

Mon, April 2nd, 2007 | Category: Comic Books

Tony returns to CALLING MANGA ISLAND, CBR's manga review column. As Tony returns, he looks at two different editions of the wildly popular "Densha Otoko," AKA "Train Man," as well as Dark Horse's first manwha (Korean comics) offering, "Banya: The Explosive Deliver Man."

Calling Manga Island - 10/12

Thu, October 12th, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

Tony's back with a look at Oh!Great's controversial "Air Gear" from Del Rey, then follows that up by reviewing Chan-Wook Park's acclaimed adaptation "Old Boy" from Dark Horse.

Manga and the Sony Reader: A Review

Fri, September 29th, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

CBR's Tony Salvaggio recently had the chance to check out the new Sony Reader, an e-ink digital device that allows you to read books and manga in digital form while on the go.

Calling Manga Island - 8/11

Fri, August 11th, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

Tony's back with a look at manga from the east in Kei Toume's "Kurogane" featuring cyborgs, samurai and supernatural revenge, then travels to the West with Ross Campbell's solid zombie offering "The Abandoned."

Calling Manga Island - 6/21

Wed, June 21st, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

This week, Tony takes a look at Masaki Segawa's "Basilisk," which fans of the "Ninja Scroll" anime may dig, as well as the OEL Manga "Dogby Walks Alone" by Wes Abbot.

Calling Manga Island - 6/03

Sat, June 3rd, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

It's old school/new school week on Manga Island and Tony takes a look at the classic '70s series "Wild 7" with it's sometimes brutal violence and the more recent "Ju-On,' which also has its fair share of violence.

Calling Manga Island - 5/21

Sun, May 21st, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

This week on CALLING MANGA ISLAND, Tony takes you on a tour of comics from the East and the West with "East Coast Rising" from Tokyopop and "Kikaider Code 02" from CMX.

Calling Manga Island - 5/04

Thu, May 4th, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

This week, Tony Salvaggio sails the seas, namely the "Seven Seas" of Original English Language manga. He looks at two of Seven Seas Publishing's offerings, "Captain Nemo" by Jason De Angelis and by Aldin Viray and "Unearthly" by Ted Naifeh and by Elmer Damaso.

Calling Manga Island - 4/20

Thu, April 20th, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

Possessed heroes, villains and plenty of undead mayhem dominate this week's CALLING MANGA ISLAND with looks at two bits of horror manga, "Claymore" and "D. Gray-Man."

Calling Manga Island - 3/30

Thu, March 30th, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

With Spring in the air, Tony decided to check out two more light hearted bits of manga this week. He checks out "Chikyu Misaki" from CMX and "KageTora" from Del Rey Manga.

Calling Manga Island - 3/17

Fri, March 17th, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

This week, Tony takes a look at Viz's "Golgo 13," a classic icon in the manga, anime and video game worlds with crazy violence so bad, it's good fun! Don't miss this classic from creator Takao Saito.

Calling Manga Island - 3/02

Thu, March 2nd, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

This week, Tony visits the world of 80s mech action with one of his favorite series; "Armored Trooper Votoms." In addition to reviews of the new graphic novel, Tony sits down with artist Tim Eldred to learn more about the manga.

Calling Manga Island - 2/17

Fri, February 17th, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

Romance is still in the air on Manga Island as this week Tony takes a look at the Romance manga "School Rumble," "Response" and "A Girl in a Million."

Calling Manga Island - 2/02

Thu, February 2nd, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

This week Tony takes a look at ADV's "Anne Freaks" (perfect for fans of "CSI" and "24") and the historical fiction "Cantarella" from GoComi, which follows the intrigues of the Borgia family, set in Rome in the 1400s.

Calling Manga Island - 1/20

Fri, January 20th, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

This week, Tony takes you to an area of the Island populated by tough girls and B movie escapism. Horror and Crime Noir are the order of the day in "Reiko Zombie Shop" and "Hard Boiled Angel."

Calling Manga Island - 1/05

Thu, January 5th, 2006 | Category: Comic Books

This week, Tony takes a look at two pieces of manga, "Sexy Voice & Robo" and "Her Majesty's Dog. While very different in tone and style, both deal with relationships and romantic entaglements that are the cornerstone of many manga stories.

Calling Manga Island - 12/22

Thu, December 22nd, 2005 | Category: Comic Books

This week Tony brings you a look at his favorite bits of Original English Language Manga to come out in 2005. Books like "Oz: The Manga," "Steady Beat," "Dramacon," "Catpain Nemo," "Airshell" and "Serenity" all get the nod.

Calling Manga Island - 12/08

Thu, December 8th, 2005 | Category: Comic Books

Tony begins year two here at CBR with a special column looking at the tons of manga he read this last year. He shares his assesment of the many Manga studios publishing in the last year and what you should be checking out.

Calling Manga Island - 11/24

Thu, November 24th, 2005 | Category: Comic Books

Celebrating one year at CBR, Tony takes a look at one of his most anticipated pieces of Manga to come out in years, "JoJo's Bizarre Adventure" by Hirohiko Araki. You may know it best from the video game, but now's your chance to get to know the characters even better.

Calling Manga Island - 11/10

Thu, November 10th, 2005 | Category: Comic Books

Tony returns to Manga Island this week with a look at four different books: "Frontier Line," "Japan," "Apocalypse Meow" and "Eden: It's An Endless World."

FirstPreviousNextLast