Comic Reviews

Showing results 5146-5185 of 8251

All Reviews

comics per page
FirstPreviousNextLast

Avengers #9

Hey, Tony, about that Illuminati group of yours? Secret’s out!

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Brian Michael Bendis
Artists:
John Romita Jr., Klaus Janson, Tom Palmer, Scott Hanna
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Sun, January 30th, 2011

Twilight Guardian #1

“Wonder if I should take the binoculars. Some of the officers around here have seen me as Twilight Guardian. If they talked to me in my civilian ID, would they recognize me?”

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Troy Hickman
Artists:
Sid Kotian
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sun, January 30th, 2011

Green Arrow #8

“Protect the forest? It grew up out of nothing. It’s an electronic dead zone – no instruments or scanning or even satellite imagery is working. And it’s growing. If you ask me, it’s not the forest that needs protecting.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
J. T. Krul
Artists:
Diogenes Neves, Oclair Albert, Vicente Cifuentes
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sat, January 29th, 2011

New York Five #1

Wood and Kelly return to the world of The New York Four – with one new addition.

Publisher:
Vertigo
Writer:
Brian Wood
Artists:
Ryan Kelly
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Sat, January 29th, 2011

Proof: Endangered #2

It’s like a gauntlet of cryptids to be run and you get the very real feeling someone might just die.

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Alex Grecian
Artists:
Riley Rossmo
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Sat, January 29th, 2011

The Boys: Highland Laddie #6

“The Boys” isn’t producing good spin-off minis, which makes it harder when one good, extended, scene is hidden in these six issues.

Publisher:
Dynamite Entertainment
Writer:
Garth Ennis
Artists:
John McCrea, Keith Burns
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Sat, January 29th, 2011

Chaos War: X-Men #2

“I am Proudstar, son of the people you call the Apache. My soul is bound to the most honored, most fierce of our spirits – the Thunderbird!”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Louise Simonson, Chris Claremont
Artists:
Doug Braithwaite
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sat, January 29th, 2011

Wonder Woman #606

“You’re right there, Princess. I owe you an equal share in this kill. After all, your carelessness led directly to her demise.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
J. Michael Straczynski, Phil Hester
Artists:
Eduardo Pansica, Jay Leisten, Marlo Alquiza, Wayne Faucher, Julio Ferreira
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Thu, January 27th, 2011

Magneto #1

“You know me well enough to expect me to use my mutant gifts to save you and your timid and ungrateful friends and neighbors. . .”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Howard Chaykin
Artists:
Howard Chaykin
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Thu, January 27th, 2011

Action Comics #897

“Lex, this is all I’m going to tell you – soon, unless you make the wrong choice, you will crack the biggest joke of all time.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Cornell
Artists:
Pete Woods
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Thu, January 27th, 2011

Incredible Hulk #621

“If I could, I would help you today in all the ways you ask, but know this Bruce Banner. When I grasped that power, I was guided by the wisdom beyond all our ken. And if you weren’t healed then perhaps that is as it should be.”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Greg Pak, Josh Williamson
Artists:
Paul Pelletier, Danny Miki, Sana Takeda
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Thu, January 27th, 2011

Thunderbolts #152

"Thunderbolts" versus behemoths from Monster Island? Oh, yeah.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jeff Parker
Artists:
Kev Walker
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Thu, January 27th, 2011

Astonishing Thor #2

The only astonishing thing here, unfortunately, is the dullness.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Robert Rodi
Artists:
Mike Choi
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Thu, January 27th, 2011

Uncanny X-Men #532

The X-Men are still sick, Dazzler is still luminous, Sebastian Shaw is still dangerous, and Greg Land is still photo-referencing.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Matt Fraction, Kieron Gillen
Artists:
Greg Land, Jay Leisten
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Thu, January 27th, 2011

Zatanna #9

Can you say, "Esirprus pukcab erutaef," kids? I thought you could.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Dini, Adam Beechen
Artists:
Cliff Chiang, Jamal Igle, Robin Riggs
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Thu, January 27th, 2011

Fables #101

This side-step after the climactic "Fables" #100 is so satisfying you'll be dying to find out what happens next with these minor characters.

Publisher:
Vertigo
Writer:
Bill Willingham
Artists:
Eric Shanower, Andrew Pepoy, Richard Friend
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, January 26th, 2011

Chaos War #5

“Sequence and distance are compressing to infinite/eternal meaninglessness around a single point which even the non-physicists in the room must realize is the bazillion foot tall glowing bearded guy in the skirt.”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Greg Pak, Fred Van Lente
Artists:
Khoi Pham, Tom Palmer, Bob McLeod
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, January 26th, 2011

Shazam! #1

The actual telling of the "Shazam!" special isn't bad, but the it's the basic idea behind it that seems off-center.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Eric Wallace
Artists:
Cliff Richards
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, January 26th, 2011

Age of X Alpha #1

Welcome to the Age of X, where mutants are holed up in Fortress X struggling to survive attacks from humans.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Mike Carey
Artists:
Mirco Pierfederici, Gabriel Hernandez Walta, Carlo Barberi, Walden Wong, Paco Diaz, Paul Davidson
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Wed, January 26th, 2011

Star Wars: Darth Vader and the Lost Command #1

Vader is a bad ass, always. That’s the rule, but I kind of wish they’d break it.

Publisher:
Dark Horse Comics
Writer:
Haden Blackman
Artists:
Rick Leonardi, Daniel Green
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Wed, January 26th, 2011

American Vampire #11

Pearl stresses over the love of her husband and Hattie can’t find her old friend, this week on a very special issue of “American Vampire.”

Publisher:
Vertigo
Writer:
Scott Snyder
Artists:
Mateus Santalouco
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Wed, January 26th, 2011

Detective Comics #873

“What I see is a common criminal. A dirty old man who sells pieces of dusty junk to rich people with too much time on their hands.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Scott Snyder
Artists:
Jock
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, January 26th, 2011

Fantastic Four #587

Hickman and Epting's "Three" is a story worthy of the attention it’s getting, but for all the right reasons.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jonathan Hickman
Artists:
Steve Epting, Rick Maygar, Mike Perkins
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
Tue, January 25th, 2011

X-Factor #214

Darwin finds himself acting as the sheriff of a mystical village.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Peter David
Artists:
Emanuela Lupacchino, Guillermo Ortego
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Mon, January 24th, 2011

X-Men Legacy #244

Blindfold tries to locate the source of her threatening precognitive visions.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Mike Carey
Artists:
Harvey Tolibao
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Mon, January 24th, 2011

Scarlet #4

Bendis and Maleev work well together. While the going might be slow, it's still worth reading.

Publisher:
Marvel Icon
Writer:
Brian Michael Bendis
Artists:
Alex Maleev
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
Mon, January 24th, 2011

Memoir #1

An entire town lost its memory ten years ago. Why? How? Trent MacGowan aims to find out!

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Ben McCool
Artists:
Nikki Cook
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Sun, January 23rd, 2011

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?: Dust to Dust #8

The prequel to Philip K. Dick’s novel ends with a bang. Literally.

Publisher:
Boom! Studios
Writer:
Chris Roberson
Artists:
Robert Adler
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Sun, January 23rd, 2011

Wolverine and Jubilee #1

21 years later, the pairing of Wolverine and Jubilee still works.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Kathryn Immonen
Artists:
Phil Noto
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Sat, January 22nd, 2011

Superman/Batman #80

View the Supermen and Batmen of different times! It’s pretty cool, actually.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Chris Roberson
Artists:
Jesus Merino
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Sat, January 22nd, 2011

Justice League of America #53

“And bravo to you, my friends, I’m so relieved and so very proud of you all. Ladies, gentlemen, I give you the Justice League of America!”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
James Robinson
Artists:
Mark Bagley, Rob Hunter, Norm Rapmund, Don Ho
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sat, January 22nd, 2011

Jurassic Park: The Devils in the Desert #1

“Something dragged itself away from the crash! But what the hell leaves that kind of trail?”

Publisher:
IDW
Writer:
John Byrne
Artists:
John Byrne
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sat, January 22nd, 2011

Thor #619

Odin is back, but even he can’t stop the World- Eaters. Can anyone?

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Matt Fraction
Artists:
Pasqual Ferry
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Fri, January 21st, 2011

Deadpool MAX #4

Cable arrives and he wears a monocle. “Deadpool MAX” wins, internet. It goddamn wins.

Publisher:
Marvel Max
Writer:
David Lapham
Artists:
Kyle Baker
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Thu, January 20th, 2011

Hellblazer #275

Royal wedding? Bah. The latest "Hellblazer" gives us a far more entertaining 2011 British nuptial to eavesdrop on.

Publisher:
Vertigo
Writer:
Peter Milligan
Artists:
Guiseppe Camuncoli, Stefano Landini, Shawn Martinbrough
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Thu, January 20th, 2011

Green Lantern Corps #56

When your next big crossover starts in March, any existing storyline will drag out until a February conclusion.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Tony Bedard
Artists:
Tyler Kirkham, Batt, Rob Hunter
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Thu, January 20th, 2011

Invincible Iron Man #500

Finally, it's an anniversary issue with more story, not more reprints! And it works well, too!

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Matt Fraction
Artists:
Salvador Larocca, Kano, Nathan Fox, Carmine Di Giandomenico
Reviewer:
Benjamin Bailey
Thu, January 20th, 2011

Soldier Zero #4

Alien suits fight a lot but, apart from the very last page, it’s all very pedestrian.

Publisher:
Boom! Studios
Writer:
Paul Cornell
Artists:
Javier Pina
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Thu, January 20th, 2011

Buffy the Vamipre Slayer Season Eight #40

I always did like Joss Whedon's season epilogues.

Publisher:
Dark Horse Comics
Writer:
Joss Whedon
Artists:
Georges Jeanty, Andy Owens
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, January 19th, 2011

Supergirl #60

A glimpse at what could have been from Nick Spencer on "Supergirl," and the hope that James Peaty can follow through.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Nick Spencer, James Peaty
Artists:
Bernard Chang
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, January 19th, 2011
FirstPreviousNextLast