Comic Reviews

Showing results 5262-5301 of 8265

All Reviews

comics per page
FirstPreviousNextLast

Deadpool Team-Up #886

Iron Fist steals the limelight and Deadpool quiets down so as to be funny and not annoying. Then Dragotta nails the visuals so hard.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Shane McCarthy
Artists:
Nick Dragotta
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Sun, January 2nd, 2011

Spider-Girl #2

“I suppose you all saw it the other day. Me against the Red Hulk. Not a smart fight. I know.”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Paul Tobin
Artists:
Clayton Henry, Ray Height, Walden Wong, Roland Paris, John Livesay
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sun, January 2nd, 2011

Justice Society of America #46

“Monument Point’s got enough problems without you @?!$#%’s adding to the list.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Marc Guggenheim
Artists:
Mike Norton
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Fri, December 31st, 2010

Hulk #28

“I’ve trashed my military career, I’m constantly attacked by my supposed allies, my family won’t talk to me, and the only place I can be human is on a secret base with the one man I can’t stand.”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jeff Parker
Artists:
Gabriel Hardman, Ben Oliver
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Fri, December 31st, 2010

What If? #200

What if Norman Osborn won Siege? Plus, Stan Lee, Roy Thomas, and Frank Miller make this a pretty cool anniversary celebration issue!

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Marc Guggenheim, Stan Lee
Artists:
Dave Wilkins, Lucio Parrillo, Dale Eaglesham
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Fri, December 31st, 2010

Astonishing Spider-Man and Wolverine #4

While this issue is a little underwhelming, it's still a great read with a great final page reveal.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jason Aaron
Artists:
Adam Kubert, Mark Roslan
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
Fri, December 31st, 2010

Action Comics #896

In which the two villain-led books of the DC Universe have themselves a crossover.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Cornell, Nick Spencer
Artists:
Pete Woods, R.B. Silva, Dym
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, December 29th, 2010

The Flash #8

What does a living retcon look like?

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns
Artists:
Scott Kolins
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, December 29th, 2010

New Mutants #20

With one issue to go, Zeb Wells starts wrapping up his run on "New Mutants."

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Zeb Wells
Artists:
Leonard Kirk, Andrew Currie
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, December 29th, 2010

Chaos War: X-Men #1

“John, I can see now what you must do. The Thunderbird that appears to only you – it’s more than your avatar, it’s a gift from your god!”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Louise Simonson, Chris Claremont
Artists:
Doug Braithwaite
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, December 29th, 2010

Green Lantern #61

“You are uncontrollable vengeance born from the blood first spilled. Too chaotic and too dangerous to leave unleashed on this world.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns
Artists:
Doug Mahnke, Christian Alamy, Tom Nguyen, Keith Champagne, Mark Irwin
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, December 29th, 2010

Red: Eyes Only #1

Cully Hamner proves he can write in “Eyes Only” and delivers career-best art with Val Staples on colors.

Publisher:
Wildstorm
Writer:
Cully Hamner
Artists:
Cully Hamner
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Wed, December 29th, 2010

Detective Comics #872

"Detective Comics" is dark, nasty, and dangerous, and I love it.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Scott Snyder
Artists:
Jock, Francesco Francavilla
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, December 29th, 2010

Batman: The Dark Knight #1

David Finch begins this new series with shades of Todd McFarlane, and not in a good way.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
David Finch
Artists:
David Finch, Scott Williams
Reviewer:
Timothy Callahan
Wed, December 29th, 2010

Fantastic Four #586

Someone's gonna die soon. And this issue shows that it could be ANY one of the Four.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jonathan Hickman
Artists:
Steve Epting, Rick Magyar
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
Mon, December 27th, 2010

Ultimate Doom #1

Ultimate Sue confronts Ultimate Reed with the Ultimate help of Ultimate Rick Jones

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Brian Michael Bendis
Artists:
Rafa Sandoval, Roger Bonet
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Mon, December 27th, 2010

Uncanny X-Men #531

The X-Men investigate the plague afflicting them.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Matt Fraction, Kieron Gillen
Artists:
Greg Land, Jay Leisten
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Mon, December 27th, 2010

Secret Avengers #8

"Secret Avengers" is good for the big picture, but not so much for the smaller details.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Ed Brubaker
Artists:
Mike Deodato
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Sun, December 26th, 2010

Batman: Streets of Gotham #18

"Batman: Streets of Gotham" is now officially in its end run, but so far it's more of a whimper than a bang.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Dini, Fabian Nicieza
Artists:
Dustin Nguyen, Derek Fridolfs, Szymon Kudranski
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Sun, December 26th, 2010

Usagi Yojimbo #134

"Usagi Yojimbo" brings the charm, as always.

Publisher:
Dark Horse Comics
Writer:
Stan Sakai
Artists:
Stan Sakai
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Sun, December 26th, 2010

Green Lantern: Larfleeze Christmas Special #1

It may try a little too hard at the end and have some awkward art, but it's not a bad Christmas tale all together.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns
Artists:
Brett Booth
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
Thu, December 23rd, 2010

Justice League of America #52

Decidedly average.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
James Robinson
Artists:
Mark Bagley, Rob Hunter, Norm Rapmund
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Thu, December 23rd, 2010

Power Girl #19

“Max Lord can control minds, can control our perceptions and now he’s done it on the largest scale imaginable. He’s fooled the whole world.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Judd Winick
Artists:
Sami Basri
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Thu, December 23rd, 2010

What If? Dark Reign #1

What if Clint Barton killed Norman Osborn? People wouldn’t like him. That’s all that happens here, basically.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jason Henderson
Artists:
Sana Takeda
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Thu, December 23rd, 2010

Zatanna #8

“I psyched myself up smiled my sunniest smile, strutted onto the set. . . and vomited into the green puppet’s trashcan.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Dini
Artists:
Cliff Chiang
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Thu, December 23rd, 2010

The Cape #1

A very tight origin story with a twist on the end that will have you wondering where else this title could go.

Publisher:
IDW
Writer:
Joe Hill, Jason Ciaramella
Artists:
Zach Howard
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Thu, December 23rd, 2010

The Traveller #2

Mysteries abound about motives and characters, and yet we still get time for a hero/villain fist fight. Comics how you want ‘em!

Publisher:
Boom! Studios
Writer:
Mark Waid
Artists:
Chad Hardin
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Thu, December 23rd, 2010

Thor: Wolves of the North #1

Thor saves a village from the army of the damned!

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Mike Carey
Artists:
Mike Perkins
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Wed, December 22nd, 2010

Superman/Batman #79

We’re heading to the 853rd century with the return of Superman and Batman from “DC One Million!”AX

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Chris Roberson
Artists:
Jesus Merino
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Wed, December 22nd, 2010

Batman, Inc. #2

Lord Death Man is dead. And now he’s not. Crap.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Grant Morrison
Artists:
Yanick Paquette, Michel Lacombe
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Wed, December 22nd, 2010

Wonder Woman #605

Phil Hester takes the reins of "Wonder Woman" and the first changes are happening for the better.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Phil Hester, J. Michael Straczynski
Artists:
Don Kramer, Eduardo Pansica, Daniel HDR, Jay Leisten, Marlo Alquiza, Wayne Faucher, Eber Ferreira
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, December 22nd, 2010

American Vampire #10

“Is he scared of the same things I’m scared of? Scared of the pull I feel inside me, the dark tug all the time?”

Publisher:
Vertigo
Writer:
Scott Snyder
Artists:
Mateus Santolouco
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, December 22nd, 2010

Teen Titans: Cold Case #1

“Rose and Eddie don’t realize the irony of what they’re saying. Two Titans taking on the Flashes’ Rogues does not exactly mean a team that’s together.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Mark Sable
Artists:
Sean Murphy
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, December 22nd, 2010

Robert E. Howard’s Savage Sword #1

This is possibly better than you want it to be. It’s a melange of awesome brought to you by your childhood but defined to be relevant for the adult you’ve become.

Publisher:
Dark Horse Comics
Writer:
Paul Tobin, Marc Andreyko, Mark Finn, Roy Thomas
Artists:
Wellington Alves, Ben Dewey, Robert Atkins, Barry Windsor-Smith, Tim Bradstreet
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Wed, December 22nd, 2010

Kill Shakespeare #18

Othello might be his own villain and Hamlet could finally be his own hero. But how do star cross’d lovers play into this?

Publisher:
IDW
Writer:
Conor McCreery, Anthony Del Col
Artists:
Andy Belanger
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Wed, December 22nd, 2010

Chew #16

“That’s a lot of money you spendin’ on chicken, old man. How you gonna afford yer adult diapers this month?”

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
John Layman
Artists:
Rob Guillory
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Tue, December 21st, 2010

The Stuff of Legend Volume II: The Jungle #3

“We lost our king. He died so I could free our greatest weapon. All of this death and despair because I wanted to be special again.”

Publisher:
Th3rd World Studios
Writer:
Mike Raicht, Brian Smith
Artists:
Charles Paul Wilson III
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Tue, December 21st, 2010

The Sixth Gun #7

"The Sixth Gun" begins its second storyline with just as much promise and punch as its first.

Publisher:
Oni Press
Writer:
Cullen Bunn
Artists:
Brian Hurtt
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Tue, December 21st, 2010

Wolverine #4

Wolverine takes down the Devil, while his body takes down the X-Men.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jason Aaron
Artists:
Renato Guedes, Jose Wilson Magalhaes, Oclair Albert
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Tue, December 21st, 2010

X-Factor #212

X-Factor finally close their case on Pip the Troll, with the help of Thor.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Peter David
Artists:
Emanuela Lupacchino, Pat Davidson
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Tue, December 21st, 2010
FirstPreviousNextLast