Comic Reviews

Showing results 5334-5373 of 8544

All Reviews

comics per page
FirstPreviousNextLast

The Intrepids #1

It’s a little bit retro-pulp and a little bit superspy crucible. Buy it.

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Kurtis J Wiebe
Artists:
Scott Kowalchuk
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Wed, March 2nd, 2011

Astonishing X-Men #36

The Astonishing X-Men team head to Japan after Armor receives some bad news.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Daniel Way
Artists:
Jason Pearson, Karl Story
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Mon, February 28th, 2011

New Mutants #22

Rogue breaks into Danger’s prison to try and find out what’s going on with Shadowcat.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Mike Carey
Artists:
Steve Kurth, Allen Martinez
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Mon, February 28th, 2011

Secret Avengers #10

The Secret Avengers prevent the copyright- infringing resurrection of Shang Chi’s father.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Ed Brubaker
Artists:
Mike Deodato, Will Conrad
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Mon, February 28th, 2011

Justice Society of America #48

“You mean apart from the fact that I killed the mayor, killed Lightning, took Dr. Fate (arguably your heaviest hitter, by the by) out of play and freed your friend Scythe, who’s probably giving the Flash a Green Lantern broken neck special a

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Marc Guggenheim
Artists:
Scott Kolins
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Mon, February 28th, 2011

The Sixth Gun #9

"The Sixth Gun" keeps firing solid shots.

Publisher:
Oni Press
Writer:
Cullen Bunn
Artists:
Brian Hurtt
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Mon, February 28th, 2011

Captain America #615

Is James Barnes innocent or guilty of the crimes he committed as the Winter Soldier? Find out in this issue!

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Ed Brubaker, Sean McKeever
Artists:
Butch Guice, Stefano Gaudiano, Rick Magyar
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Sun, February 27th, 2011

X-Men Legacy #245

“Age of X” begins! Alternate reality mutant fun!

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Mike Carey
Artists:
Clay Mann, Jay Leisten
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Sun, February 27th, 2011

X-Men #8

"X-Men" is already in a sophomore slump.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Victor Gischler
Artists:
Chris Bachalo, Tim Townsend, Wayne Faucher, Jaime Mendoza, Al Vey
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Sat, February 26th, 2011

Fantastic Four #588

Hickman’s greatest issue on this title yet, it’s a poignant set of moments in the history of the “Fantastic Four” that look simply gorgeous in every panel.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jonathan Hickman
Artists:
Nick Dragotta, Mark Brooks
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Sat, February 26th, 2011

Power Girl #21

“Max Lord! Dick, he stole the OMAC Project, he killed tens of thousands that time, he just framed Captain Atom in Magog’s murder and killed nearly another 900 civilians in Chicago! He killed Ted Kord.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Judd Winick
Artists:
Sami Basri
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Fri, February 25th, 2011

Teen Titans #92

“Wish I could do the same. Still refuse to call him by your name. I don’t care what costume you or him wears. As far as I’m concerned, you’re my Robin. Always will be.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
J. T. Krul
Artists:
Georges Jeanty, Rob Hunter
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Thu, February 24th, 2011

Green Arrow #9

“Phantom Stranger. And you just saw what he does best – swoop in with some vague mumbo jumbo then disappear to let us all ponder its meaning. As if we didn’t have better things to do with our time.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
J. T. Krul
Artists:
Diogenes Neves, Oclair Albert, Vicente Cifuentes
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Thu, February 24th, 2011

Morning Glories #7

How is “Morning Glories” like “Lost?” And how is it becoming “Glee?”

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Nick Spencer
Artists:
Joe Eisma
Reviewer:
Benjamin Birdie
Thu, February 24th, 2011

Action Comics #898

"The Black Ring" kicks into high gear, as a whole spate of villainy is revealed.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Paul Cornell
Artists:
Pete Woods
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Thu, February 24th, 2011

Iron Man 2.0 #1

There’s a reason why this comic isn’t titled “War Machine.” It reads like second Iron Man comic that happens to feature James Rhodes instead of Tony Stark.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Nick Spencer
Artists:
Barry Kitson, Kano, Carmine Di Giandomenico
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Thu, February 24th, 2011

Amazing Spider-Man #655

“I used to build Spider-Slayers. That makes me a super villain. And super villains always come back.”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Dan Slott
Artists:
Marcos Martin
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, February 23rd, 2011

Incorruptible #15

The Paradigm comes to Coalville to take down Max Damage... or offer him a job?

Publisher:
BOOM! Studios
Writer:
Mark Waid
Artists:
Marcio Takara
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Wed, February 23rd, 2011

Justice League: Generation Lost #20

"Justice League: Generation Lost" does one last origin spotlight, this time on... Maxwell Lord.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Judd Winick
Artists:
Joe Bennett, Jack Jadson, Ruy Jose
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, February 23rd, 2011

American Vampire #12

“Thank you? I’m about to tear your head off, Kitty.”

Publisher:
Vertigo
Writer:
Scott Snyder
Artists:
Danijel Zezelj
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, February 23rd, 2011

Avengers #10

This month is nothing but transition, but it's a lackluster one at that.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Brian Michael Bendis
Artists:
John Romita Jr., Klaus Janson, Tom Palmer
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, February 23rd, 2011

Kill Shakespeare #9

The Bard makes an appearance that satisfies after the wait, and the creepiest papier mache monsters ever will rob your soul.

Publisher:
IDW
Writer:
Conor McCreery, Anthony Del Col
Artists:
Andy Belanger
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Wed, February 23rd, 2011

King Conan: The Scarlet Citadel #1

If you like classic Conan art then this issue is going to please you to no end.

Publisher:
Dark Horse Comics
Writer:
Timothy Truman
Artists:
Tomas Giorello
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Wed, February 23rd, 2011

Godland #34

“Concentrate on thoughts of Earth. Together we shall make the cosmic leap – across oblivion. . .”

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Joe Casey
Artists:
Tom Scioli
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, February 23rd, 2011

Detective Comics #874

James Gordon Jr. finally gets the center stage, but his story has only just begun.

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Scott Snyder
Artists:
Francesco Francavilla
Reviewer:
Greg McElhatton
Wed, February 23rd, 2011

Who Is Jake Ellis? #2

Jake Ellis might just be my favorite new character of this year. He’s creepy, intriguing, and a great comic delight.

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Nathan Edmondson
Artists:
Tonci Zonjic
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Wed, February 23rd, 2011

Skullkickers #6

Different takes on these two characters all show us the same thing: these guys are fun.

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Chris Sims, Brian Clevinger, Ray Fawkes, Adam Warren
Artists:
Joe Vriens, Jim Zubkavich, Scott Hepburn, Jeff Cruz
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Wed, February 23rd, 2011

Uncanny X-Force #5

Fantomex – and his family - come under attack by Deathlok.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Rick Remender
Artists:
Esad Ribic, John Lucas
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Mon, February 21st, 2011

Marvel Girl #1

Jean Grey takes a leave of absence from Xavier’s to deal with her anger issues.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Joshua Hale Fialkov
Artists:
Nuno Plati
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Mon, February 21st, 2011

Generation Hope #4

The Generation Hope kids arrive on Utopia, and we get to find out whether Kenji is as dangerous as he looks.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Kieron Gillen
Artists:
Salvador Espin, Scott Koblish
Reviewer:
James Hunt
Mon, February 21st, 2011

The Boys #51

Butcher and Vought-American make some behind-the-scenes moves in preparation of the inevitable Boys/Seven conflict.

Publisher:
Dynamite Entertainment
Writer:
Garth Ennis
Artists:
Russ Braun
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Mon, February 21st, 2011

Soldier Zero #5

Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning take over the writing chores, but this issue reads like the four that preceded it, in both good and bad ways.

Publisher:
BOOM! Studios
Writer:
Dan Abnett, Andy Lanning
Artists:
Javier Pina
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Mon, February 21st, 2011

Proof: Endangered #3

Proof is distracted by Mecha-Zoidberg while Ginger gets an inverted “Kill Bill” mission forced on her.

Publisher:
Image Comics
Writer:
Alex Grecian
Artists:
Riley Rossmo
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Mon, February 21st, 2011

Wolverine #6

Wolverine is possessed by demons and looks like a danger. So, to kill or not to kill?

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jason Aaron
Artists:
Daniel Acuña
Reviewer:
Chad Nevett
Sun, February 20th, 2011

Hulk #30

“Ho now. I wonder how this will change things. I mean he’s not coming to destroy you, I’m sure he doesn’t know (nor care) about a Red Hulk.”

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Jeff Parker
Artists:
Ed McGuiness, Dexter Vines, Tim Seeley
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sat, February 19th, 2011

Daredevil: Reborn #2

Matt Murdock as played by Earl Hickey’s idea of what Chuck Norris does in Texas.

Publisher:
Marvel Comics
Writer:
Andy Diggle
Artists:
Davide Gianfelice
Reviewer:
Ryan K. Lindsay
Sat, February 19th, 2011

Doom Patrol #19

“Aww fer th’ luvva. . . since when do we got a #@*#in’ volcano?”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Keith Giffen
Artists:
Matthew Clark, Ron Randall, Art Thibert, Sean Parsons
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sat, February 19th, 2011

Young Justice #1

“A crisis brought them together? I guess it’s kind of like how we came together?”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Art Baltazar, Franco Aureliani
Artists:
Mike Norton
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sat, February 19th, 2011

Justice League of America #54

“And now this time, today, you were caught unawares by our transformation. As was I, I confess. But I do so believe in opening the door when I hear the knock of opportunity.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
James Robinson
Artists:
Brett Booth, Norm Rapmund
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Sat, February 19th, 2011

Brightest Day #20

“Each one of us is caught between two worlds. Each one of us knows how hard it is to face that alone. Which is why we never will be. Never again.”

Publisher:
DC Comics
Writer:
Geoff Johns, Peter J. Tomasi
Artists:
Ivan Reis, Joe Prado, Julio Ferreira, Oclair Albert, Norm Rapmund, Marlo Alquiza, Andy Owens
Reviewer:
Doug Zawisza
Wed, February 16th, 2011
FirstPreviousNextLast